Japan Encyclopedia by
Richly detailed yet concise, this encyclopaedia covers the full range of Japanese history, culture and civilisation, from the dawn of its prehistory to modern times, providing information on every aspect of Japanese society and its institutions.
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan by
This nine-volume reference contains over 10,000 articles exploring every aspect of Japanese society, history, politics, economy, thought and culture. The 50,000-item index is cross-referenced for easy location of facts.
Modern Japan by
First Published in 1998. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
The Hotei Encyclopedia of Japanese Woodblock Prints (2 Vols. ) by
The Hotei Encyclopedia of Japanese Woodblock Prints will serve as a source of quick reference as well as an in-depth study of all aspects of Japanese prints from the Edo (1600-1868) to Taish (1912-26) periods. The first section of The Hotei Encyclopedia is divided into four main subject areas: historical background, the art history of Ukiyo-e prints, print production (materials and techniques, the publishing trade) and the history of collecting Japanese prints, with a shorter fifth section on conservation. Each subject area contains a longer survey article which is accompanied by shorter essays that highlight specific topics pertaining to Japanese prints and their development. The second section of the book comprises an extensive alphabetical listing of well over a 2000 carefully cross-referenced entries on individual print designers and schools, publishers, carvers, printers and collectors, major Kabuki actors, materials and techniques, conservation, subject-matter/iconography, literature and miscellaneous print-related terminology. This is followed by various appendices, including such aspects as seals of publishers and carvers, signatures, maps and chronological tables. With this ambitious project Hotei Publishing hopes to fill the gap for an extensive reference work and introduction to Japanese prints, one that will prove a valuable resource for teachers and students, art collectors, librarians and interested lay-people alike.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Japan by
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Japan is the essential reference to all facets of Japan past and present. Up-to-date, authoritative and wide-ranging in scope, it covers all the general reader, student, business person, journalist, researcher, tourist or armchair traveller would want to know. A highly absorbing read, the Encyclopedia is also filled with the facts, figures and general data on Japan that make it an indispensable source of information: for example, that the safest place to be during an earthquake in Japan is in a bamboo grove; or that one of the greatest delicacies of Japanese cuisine, the fugu, is deadly poisonous in the hands of an unskilled chef. It gives the latest statistics too, from Japan's dramatically ageing population, to a complete listing of its prime ministers, to valuable data on the powerful Japanese advertising industry. Throughout, full-colour photographs, maps and graphics generously illustrate the book and additional boxed features highlight important topics or issues relevant to the text. This, in a single volume, is a complete and fascinating picture of Japan and its people: its rich inherited traditions and culture, its modern complexities and its tantalising future role in the world.