Skip to Main Content
Philosophy-specific databases
-
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window- Why search here? You are working on a philosophy assignment.
- What's included? Citations to journal articles, books, anthologies, and book reviews covering all branches of philosophy.
-
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online This link opens in a new window- Why search here? You are working on a philosophy assignment.
- What's included? PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.
-
POIESIS Philosophy Online Serials This link opens in a new window- Why search here? You are working on a philosophy assignment.
- What's included? POIESIS includes journals and series published by philosophical societies, departments, and university presses in several countries.
-
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window- Why search here? You’re doing research in theology or philosophy.
- What's included? Over one hundred full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.
General Databases that would include Philosophy
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
-
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window- Why search here? You want scholarly journal articles in the humanities
- What's included? About 600 journals, mostly peer-reviewed, covering art, history, theatre, music, religion, film, philosophy, literature, and language.
