Articles - PACS100 - Intro to Peace and Conflict Studies (Fall 2024)

Databases availabile at DePauw

General Databases for all (or at least many) subjects:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want news from alternative (not mainstream) media.
- What's included? Full-text of about 200 newspapers/magazines of the alternative (generally progressive) press.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want contemporary/recent news, reported from the minority press, or scholarly journals in Ethnic Studies.
- What's included? Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, predominately in the United States, 1959-present. Includes Asian-American, Jewish-American, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European-American, multi-ethnic communities and more.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re looking for journal articles for a topic related to religions.
- What's included? Full-text journals and essays from over 360 religion and theology journals. The option to find articles about specific Christian/Judaic scripture passages.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need primary source material on world news, arts and culture, technology, science and more within the last 40 years.
- What's included? Full-text (but not page images) from the late 2000s to the present.
Washington Post (1987 - current) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want recent/current news from a major mainstream press.
- What's included? The full-text (but not page images) of the Washington Post from 1987 to the present.
Wall Street Journal (1984-current) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want recent/current news, particularly business news.
- What's included? The full-text (but not page images) of the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need news from around the world.
- What's included? Articles from more than 800 U.S. and international newspapers; TV and radio news transcripts.

Finding Full Text

Once you find an article you would like to access, full text may be available by clicking on the Find it button. The Find it button will check to see if the article is available from another database, to see if the library has a copy of the article in print, or let you request to borrow the article using Interlibrary Loan (ILL).