Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use these library subscription databases to access articles
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want to read summaries of previous research on a topic, giving you historical context and current understanding of the subject, as well as a list of sources to consult.
- What's included? Over 30,000 literature reviews in the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, dating back to 1932.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are looking for general health information.
- What's included? Non-technical articles on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are looking for research articles on medical topics.
- What's included? Scholarly full text journals covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
Science Direct College Editions This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are looking for full-text scholarly articles on science, education, psychology and business topics.
- What's included? Full-text of over 500 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are searching for articles in the health and medical sciences.
- What's included? 26+ million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles.
General Science Magazines & News Sources
Your Online Research Identity
Many researchers share the same name, while others have different names during their career, or different variations of the same name. As part of your professional portfolio, you will be creating a researcher identity, to support networking and showcasing your research. Why is this important?
- Enables you to manage your publications, track citations, check who is citing your publications
- Identify potential collaborators
- Avoid author mis-identification
Why have an online presence? Things to think about:
- Having a voice: how do you want to present yourself?
- Timely posting: how much time will you give to posting, creating original content regularly
- Tracking your citation metrics
- Networking opportunities - having a conversation with other researchers. Follow people whom you want to follow you. Be open to dialogue with others.
- Balancing privacy vs. visibility
What is ORCiD?
An ORCiD is a unique identifier, which allows you to distinguish yourself from other researchers throughout your career. The unique identifier is publicly available and searchable in a public registry.
An ORCiD is of value at all career stages, from postgraduate research student to senior academic. Funders and publishers are increasingly adopting ORCiD as the method to unambiguously link people to their publications and grants.
ORCiD provides a persistent digital identifier (an ORCID iD) that you own and control, and that distinguishes you from every other researcher.
For Your Information - other online profiles: via Web of Science and Elsevier
In Web of Science, researchers are assigned an individual ID called a WoS ResearcherID. Once a WoS ResearcherID is created, the publications affiliated to the researcher are added to their profile. Authors must register for an ID. (DePauw does not subscribe to Web of Science at this time.)
A Scopus Author ID (via Elsevier) distinguishes between authors with similar sounding names by assigning each author in Scopus a unique number under which all their research outputs are collated. Authors are automatically assigned an ID when they publish in a journal indexed by Scopus. (DePauw does not subscribe to Scopus at this time.)
DOI: Digital Object Identifiers
A DOI, or Digital Object Identifier, is a string of numbers, letters and symbols used to permanently identify an article or document and link to it on the web. A DOI will help your reader easily locate a document from your citation. Think of it like a barcode for the article you’re citing — it will always refer to that article, and only that one. While a web address (URL) might change, the DOI will never change.