Skip to Main Content 
Databases to find journal articles
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window- Why search here? You need access to literary criticism in subject areas such as; Children's, Classical & Medieval, Contemporary, Drama, 1400 - 1800, Poetry, Short Stories, & 20th Century literature.
- What's included? Centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window- Why search here? This is the principal resource for scholarship in languages, linguistics and literature.
- What's included? Full-text articles from scholarly journals, citations for books and dissertations, proceedings, essays and bibliographies are international in scope. The Thesaurus identifies terminology appearing in current scholarship to create more precise searches. Folklore, the history of printing and publishing, dramatic arts, film and broadcasting are also included.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window- Why search here? You want scholarly journal articles in the humanities
- What's included? About 600 journals, mostly peer-reviewed, covering art, history, theatre, music, religion, film, philosophy, literature, and language.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window- Why search here? You want scholarly articles in the humanities or social sciences that were published between 1907-1984.
- What's included? Over a million citations to scholarly journal articles.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window- Why search here? You need scholarly articles on the humanities and social sciences.
- What's included? Project Muse is a collection of established and longstanding scholarly journals in full-text for humanities and social sciences journals. Strengths of this collection include its caliber of content with historical and the current holdings.
