BLOG: Current Happenings in OER - LibGuides at DePauw University Libraries

You're welcome to join us for a free webinar in a couple of weeks!

Creative Teaching Solutions: Open Pedagogy and Student-Centered Learning

April 16^th, 11:30-12:20pm ET

Our students are looking for classroom experiences that are meaningful, engaging, and empowering. One way to achieve this is to employ open pedagogy, an approach to teaching that prioritizes student-centered learning and the use of open educational resources. Join us for a special guest presentation by Heather Miceli, Postdoctoral Research Fellow at AAC&U and former faculty member at Roger Williams University. Heather will share her own experience with open pedagogy and lots of practical tips for how to integrate this approach to teaching into your classroom.

Recent Posts

New OER: Interpreting AI in the News: A Media Literacy Plan

Creative Commons recently worked with Aspen Digital to help them openly license their new “Interpreting AI in the News: A Media Literacy Plan.”Media coverage of AI systems often fails to distinguish between hype and reality. This leads to public misconceptions that can fuel unnecessary fears or unrealistic hopes about these tools.To help the rising generation think critically about reporting on AI, Aspen Digital has published a media literacy lesson plan geared toward high school and junior college students: Interpreting AI in the News. This open educational resource is designed to equip students for an AI-driven world by fostering a deeper understanding of how the media portrays these emerging technologies....

AI Cookbook: Recipes and More from the University of Missouri

The AI Cookbook: Recipes and More from the University of Missouri is an open resource published on August 19, 2024. It offers practical AI strategies for educators, inspired by the University of Florida's work. This toolkit includes AI "recipes" for tasks like crafting learning objectives, generating graphics, and developing rubrics, all with a focus on accessibility, collaboration, and ethical use. Check out the table of contents:IntroductionGetting Started With PromptingCreating Course Learning ObjectivesOutlining Course ModulesWriting Module Learning ObjectivesTiLT Assignment StructureCreating a ModuleWriting Discussion PromptsCreating Objective Quizzes/ExamsCreating Assessment InstructionsDrafting Essay ExamsDeveloping a Holistic RubricDeveloping an Analytical RubricModule Overviews/Wrap-upsRole-playing: Scenarios and Case StudiesGenerating GraphicsCollaborationActive Learning StrategiesLesson PlansStudent Study AidesFeedbackRecipe: Assignment TemplateRecipe: Introductory Discussion (Icebreaker)Recipe: AI LiteracyRecipe: AI DebateRecipe: AI TutoringRecipe: AI Case StudyRecipe: AI in Your CareerMultimodal PromptsPrompts and AccessibilityAI Use and CopyrightAcknowledgment GeneratorGlossaryPrompts and BiasesPrompts and Privacy...

MIT Press launches Open Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science with inaugural articles

“The MIT Press has announced the official launch of the Open Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science (OECS), releasing the first 50 articles of this groundbreaking, openly accessible web reference. Developed to spearhead the next generation of exploration in cognition and intelligence, OECS aims to become the definitive resource in the field of cognitive science.“Building on the legacy of the MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences, which has served as a cornerstone for researchers and students for 25 years, OECS sets a new standard for comprehensive and accessible scholarly reference. This initiative is generously supported by the James S. McDonnell Foundation and the Allen Institute for AI. …”Click here to read the original press release....

Find OER in Pressbooks’ collections hub

Pressbooks’ collections hub is a space to find great open textbooks to adopt or adapt for the classroom.Here you’ll find several collections curated by the Pressbooks librarian to celebrate and share examples of excellence in open education. You’ll also see a featured collection that highlights new and important work. All of these books can be found in Pressbooks Directory, an index of over 5,000 free books and other open educational resources.Featured collection: Student-Led OERThe Student-Led OER collection features open pedagogy projects that empower students to create their own course material. This approach is aimed at increasing student engagement and investment in the course by giving them a sense of ownership. Examples of Student-Led OER include collections of essays, research projects, design portfolios, personal stories, and more. Such projects can be used to benefit future students and faculty, enhance students’ portfolios, gather useful research data, and include greater intersectionality in course materials.Getting Started with PressbooksThis session is open to anyone looking to learn more about Pressbooks. Content is designed for faculty creators and other users who are new to Pressbooks.Join us on August 7 Advanced Pressbooks PublishingThis session is open to all users on Pressbooks Enterprise Networks. Content is designed for users who have some familiarity with Pressbooks and are ready to engage in more complex activities such as adding interactivity with H5P.Join us on August 19 ...

Open Pedagogy Webinar Invitation

Leave a comment

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.

If you do not have an account, Register Now.

Open Pedagogy Webinar Invitation

Leave a comment

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please login here and try again.

If you do not have an account, Register Now.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.