LibGuides: CHEM Summer Research 2025: Databases

Starting Points for Research

ACS Publications
- Why search here? You have a Chemistry research project.
- What's included? Full-text of core journals and magazines from the American Chemical Society, dating back to the late 1800s.
SciFinder-n
https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=CB6ED6D2-86F3-5055-29D2-288623360FC7
This database requires all users to be logged in with one of their accounts. To get access to the registration link, please contact library@depauw.edu.
Science Direct College Editions
- Why search here? You are looking for full-text scholarly articles on science, education, psychology and business topics.
- What's included? Full-text of over 500 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine.
SpringerLink Journals
- Why search here? Full-text scholarly articles in all areas of science and some areas of social sciences from 1997 to present.
- What's included? Over 1,600 full-text Springer journals in the following fields: behavioral science, biomedical & life sciences, business & economics, chemistry, computer science, earth & environmental science, humanities, social sciences & law, mathematics & statistics, and medicine. Coverage starts in 1997 or later and continues to the present.
PubMed
- Why search here? You are searching for articles in the health and medical sciences.
- What's included? 26+ million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles.
Annual Reviews
- Why search here? You want to read summaries of previous research on a topic, giving you historical context and current understanding of the subject, as well as a list of sources to consult.
- What's included? Over 30,000 literature reviews in the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, dating back to 1932.
Google Scholar
- Why search here? You need a variety of scholarly and professional sources like journal articles, books, reports, and proceedings.
- What's included? Information about published sources, sometimes with links to the full-text, covering most disciplines.
- Note:Follow these instructions to set your Google Scholar settings for access to DePauw's Full Text when available: Google Scholar FAQ
Academic Search Complete
- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.

E-Print Sites

arXiv.org
Open access preprints. (The term preprint most often refers to a manuscript that has gone through an initial review and now awaits full peer-review and publication in a traditional journal. A preprint accessible over the Web may also be referred to as an e-print.)
ChemRxiv.org
ChemRxiv (pronounced 'chem-archive') is a free submission, distribution and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas. It gives researchers across a broad range of chemistry fields the opportunity to share early results with colleagues and respond to comments and recommendations for improvement, ahead of formal peer review and publication.