Ency of the City by Caves R W StaffThe Encyclopedia of the Cityfocuses on the key topics encountered by undergraduates and scholars in urban studies and allied fields. Contributors include major theoreticians and practitioners, and on other individuals, groups, and organizations which study the city or practice in a field that directly or indirectly affects the city, the Encyclopedianecessarily adopts an interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary perspective. A solid but also provocative starting point for wider exploration of the city, this is a first-class work of reference that will be an essential resource for independent study as well as a useful aid in teaching.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Urban America by Neil Larry Shumsky (Editor)With well over 300 contributors and 500 entries, Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs details selected major cities, suburbs, people, places, concepts, contemporary issues, history, and development of urban America. Topics range from problems typically associated with urban life such as crime, pollution, and congestion to the arts and humanities, social concerns, religion, infrastructure, key individuals, and economic issues. Numerous illustrations, cross-references, bibliographies, a thematic locator, and a general index supplement a volume that will be a welcome addition to high school, college, and public libraries. * Includes numerous illustrations, cross-references, bibliographies, and a thematic locator
Call Number: Roy O. West Library General Collection HT123 .E5 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Encyclopedia of World Cities by Immanuel NessProvides an overview of 132 cities around the globe. For each city, a national map indicates its location, and the text describes its location, population, history, government, economy, transportation, health care, education, housing, and cultural attributes. A statistical profile summarizes data about each city.
Call Number: Roy O. West Library General Collection HT108.5 .N47 1999
The Transformation of an Indian Labor Market: the Case of Pune by Richard D. Lambert; Ralph B. Ginsberg; Sarah J. MooreThis book presents the results of a series of studies of the labor markets in Pune, a medium-sized city in India. In the seven-year period over which these studies were carried out, Pune was transformed from a quiet administrative and educational center with a few isolated, relatively low technology factories, employing mostly unskilled and semi-skilled laborers, into a major manufacturing city with a substantial number of large-scale factories producing a diverse set of products, requiring high technology and a skilled work force. At the same time there was what is referred to as the Pune urban agglomoration growth. If there ever was a mix of rapid industrialization, and rapid urbanization, this was it.
Publication Date: 1986
Smart Cities by Germaine HalegouaKey concepts, definitions, examples, and historical contexts for understanding smart cities, along with discussions of both drawbacks and benefits of this approach to urban problems. Over the past ten years, urban planners, technology companies, and governments have promoted smart cities with a somewhat utopian vision of urban life made knowable and manageable through data collection and analysis. Emerging smart cities have become both crucibles and showrooms for the practical application of the Internet of Things, cloud computing, and the integration of big data into everyday life. Are smart cities optimized, sustainable, digitally networked solutions to urban problems? Or are they neoliberal, corporate-controlled, undemocratic non-places? This volume in the MIT Press Essential Knowledge series offers a concise introduction to smart cities, presenting key concepts, definitions, examples, and historical contexts, along with discussions of both the drawbacks and the benefits of this approach to urban life. After reviewing current terminology and justifications employed by technology designers, journalists, and researchers, the book describes three models for smart city development--smart-from-the-start cities, retrofitted cities, and social cities--and offers examples of each. It covers technologies and methods, including sensors, public wi-fi, big data, and smartphone apps, and discusses how developers conceive of interactions among the built environment, technological and urban infrastructures, citizens, and citizen engagement. Throughout, the author--who has studied smart cities around the world--argues that smart city developers should work more closely with local communities, recognizing their preexisting relationship to urban place and realizing the limits of technological fixes. Smartness is a means to an end: improving the quality of urban life.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2020
Smart Cities: Foundations, Principles, Applications by Houbing Song; Ravi Srinivasan; Tamim Sookoor; Sabina JeschkeProvides the foundations and principles needed for addressing the various challenges of developing smart cities Smart cities are emerging as a priority for research and development across the world. They open up significant opportunities in several areas, such as economic growth, health, wellness, energy efficiency, and transportation, to promote the sustainable development of cities. This book provides the basics of smart cities, and it examines the possible future trends of this technology. Smart Cities: Foundations, Principles, and Applications provides a systems science perspective in presenting the foundations and principles that span multiple disciplines for the development of smart cities. Divided into three parts--foundations, principles, and applications--Smart Cities addresses the various challenges and opportunities of creating smart cities and all that they have to offer. It also covers smart city theory modeling and simulation, and examines case studies of existing smart cities from all around the world. In addition, the book: Addresses how to develop a smart city and how to present the state of the art and practice of them all over the world Focuses on the foundations and principles needed for advancing the science, engineering, and technology of smart cities--including system design, system verification, real-time control and adaptation, Internet of Things, and test beds Covers applications of smart cities as they relate to smart transportation/connected vehicle (CV) and Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) for improved mobility, safety, and environmental protection Smart Cities: Foundations, Principles, and Applications is a welcome reference for the many researchers and professionals working on the development of smart cities and smart city-related industries.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2017
Understanding the City: Henri Lefebvre and Urban Studies by Gulcin Erdi-Lelandais (Editor)Henri Lefebvre is undoubtedly one of the most influential thinkers in the field of urban space and its organization; his theories offer reflections still valid for analyzing social relations in urban areas affected by the crisis of the neoliberal economic system. Lefebvre's ideal of the right to the city is now more widely accepted given today's current cultural and social situation. Most current research on Henri Lefebvre refers solely to his ideas and their theoretical discussion, without focusing on the empirical transcription of the philosopher. This book fills this gap, and proposes examples about the empirical use of Henri Lefebvre's sociology from the perspective of different cities and researchers in order to understand the city and its evolutions in the context of neoliberal globalization. The book's main purpose is to revisit Lefebvre's still-relevant key concepts in order to understand the contemporary city. Case studies in this book will show also that the reception of Lefebvrian concepts differs across different contexts, depending on the social and political circumstances of each country. The debates in this book both expand the scope of urban imagination, and help to reinvigorate, unify, and empower shared desires for just urban outcomes. The contributions to this book also illuminate the everyday choices concerning the form and social processes of the city, and the inspiration that they draw from Lefebvre's theoretical legacy in the realm of urban sociology.