Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Starting Your Search
It can be intimidating to use the library and start a research project, but fear not we (the librarians and your professor) are here every step of the way.
- It helps to start by writing a list of terms that you will use in your search.
- Keep notes as you research, the terms you used, where you searched, what you found.
- Once you have some terms do some background research to add more terms to your list.
- Now you have a bit more information on your topic start looking for more in depth information.
- Search for books, use the bibliography to find even more books or articles. Art books are in the N call number range on the third floor of Roy O. West Library.
- Use library databases to search for articles.
- As you encounter words, time periods, names, places etc. that you don't know circle back to do more background reading.
Library Catalog - Books
To find books (and more!) use DePauw's Discovery search. It will also search materials owned by libraries all over the world.
How to request books from campus libraries (if you are on campus): https://libanswers.depauw.edu/faq/322825
Oxford Art Online
Online gateway for Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference works.
Full-text collection of over 200 core academic subjects, language and quotation dictionaries, as well as Oxford University Press encyclopedias and companions series.
Academic Search Complete
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Art Full Text
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals and magazines covering fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Also indexes book reviews, dissertations and art reproductions.
Abstracts journal articles, books, etc. Modern & contemporary art (from the late 19th century onwards), including the history of photography.
Journal article archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. Begins with vol. 1, issue 1, 1800's, or even earlier (most titles exclude the most recent 3-5 years; some titles have current issue access).
Using Interlibrary Loan
Sometimes we don't have access to the item you want, but we have a way of getting it for you...Interlibrary Loan. If you don't find a link to full-text or a call number, you'll see this button:
If you request an item using Interlibrary Loan, it will take up to 7-10 days to be received. When the item comes in, you will be notified by e-mail. Some items will be available electronically in your ILL account; others you will pick up at the Circulation desk.
Login to ILLiad to enter information for a request that you need to make manually, to check the status of a request, or to request a renewal.