Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Starting Your Project - Research
It can be intimidating to use the library and start a research project, but fear not we (the librarians and your professor) are here every step of the way.
- It helps to start by writing a list of terms that you will use in your search.
- Keep notes as you research, the terms you used, where you searched, what you found.
- Once you have some terms do some background research to add more terms to your list.
- Now you have a bit more information on your topic start looking for more in depth information.
- Search for books, use the bibliography to find even more books or articles.
- Use library databases to search for articles.
These sources will get you started with your research. They will help you find background information on your artist, provide definitions, and discussions of concepts and techniques.
Oxford Art Online
Online gateway for Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference works.
To find books (and more!) use DePauw's Discovery search. It will also search materials owned by libraries all over the world.
Databases (Articles, Chapters, Images)
Academic Search Complete
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Journal article archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. Begins with vol. 1, issue 1, 1800's, or even earlier (most titles exclude the most recent 3-5 years; some titles have current issue access).
Art Full Text
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals and magazines covering fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Also indexes book reviews, dissertations and art reproductions.
Abstracts journal articles, books, etc. Modern & contemporary art (from the late 19th century onwards), including the history of photography.
Art Index Retrospective:1929-1984
Abstracts and citations to articles, interviews, reviews, yearbooks and museum bulletins (published in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch) covering fine, decorative and commercial art.
International Bibliography of Art
The International Bibliography of Art provides coverage of international art scholarship ranging from European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Includes all media: painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
The visual version of JSTOR, providing approximately 1.8 million high-quality images. It includes architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects, and visual and material culture more generally.
To save/print high quality images you must register. No commercial or non-educational use allowed!
New York Times (1980 - current)
Search the New York Times within the U.S. Major Dailies collection.
Full text articles from about 200 newspapers, magazines & journals of the alternative, independent (generally left wing) press. 2 users.
U.S. Major Dailies
Includes 1985+ of the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, the Chicago Tribune, and the Los Angeles Times.
A full-text article database of popular and trade news from around the world; company profiles; accounting literature and legal information largely focusing on U.S. and North America.