Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Reference Tools?
Reference tools are books and websites that give you specific facts, definitions, summaries & background information, suggestions of important readings, and help focusing your research topic.
They include encyclopedias, dictionaries & thesauri, biographical compilations, and atlases.
There are a few great online reference resources, recommended by the Classical Studies faculty.
Prof. Liu Recommended Online Resources
These are online resources Prof. Liu recommends you use throughout the course:
- Ovid Illustrated
- The Digital Loeb Classical Library - Full text online access to works of ancient Greek and Latin literature. Presents the original Greek or Latin text on each left-hand page, and a fairly literal translation on the facing page.
- ORBIS - The Stanford Geospatial Network Model of the Roman World: "ORBIS allows us to express Roman communication costs in terms of both time and expense. By simulating movement along the principal routes of the Roman road network, the main navigable rivers, and hundreds of sea routes in the Mediterranean, Black Sea and coastal Atlantic, this interactive model reconstructs the duration and financial cost of travel in antiquity."
- Cornell University Guide for Greek Myth
E-reference Books Available
Online Reference Resources
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
This source includes a subject-specific search function that includes Classical Studies topics, and also includes searchable maps and timelines.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Online gateway for Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference works.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Over 1000 professional philosophers are donating their time and labor to collaboratively write, referee, and maintain this reference work. Full text & image encyclopedia.
Online Map & Atlas Tools
The Ancient World Online roundup of resources
A list of digital projects dealing with geography in the ancient world. This is not a comprehensive list, it does include a few interesting maps.
Roman Routeplanner- a reconstruction of an antique Roman map with internet technology.
Vici.org is the archaeological atlas of classical antiquity. It is a community driven archaeological map, inspired by and modelled after Wikipedia.
Classical Antiquity/Mythology Encyclopedias
The Libraries are here to help! Here are a few resources available to you for your research and information needs:
1. Peer Research Consultants - Peer Research Consultants staff the Research Desk in Roy O. West Library. They go through extensive training to learn how to best help other students with their own library research questions. When they feel like a librarian can best help someone, they'll recommend that the student make an appointment with a librarian. The Research Desk schedule is available online.
2. Appointment with a Librarian - Need more in-depth help on a big research project? Schedule an appointment ahead of time to work with a librarian!