Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Starting Your Search
- It helps to start by writing a list of words that you will use in your search.
- artist's name
- medium (e.g. painting, sculpture, etc.)
- date or time period of your artworks (e.g. 17th century, Expressionism, etc.)
- Keep notes as you research, the terms you used, where you searched, what you found.
- Once you have some words do some background research to add more terms to your list.
- biographical information about your artist
- define any terms you don't know related to your chosen artwork
- find a map or timeline to place your artist and artwork in time and place
- Now you have a bit more information on your topic start looking for more in depth information.
- Search for books, use the bibliography to find even more books or articles.
- Use library databases to search for articles.
- As you encounter words, theories, etc. that you don't know circle back to do more background reading.
The librarians and your professor are here every step of the way.
To find books (and more!) use DePauw's Discovery search. It will also search materials owned by libraries all over the world.
Over 100,000 books in a variety of subject areas, including publications from major academic publishers. Sections (60 pages or less) can be printed. New books are added on a regular basis. NOTE: To download content (which automatically expires, like a "loan"), log in via the Bookshelf Tab or Sign In link using your DePauw network username and password .
EBSCO eBook Collection
About 9,000 ebooks; copyright dates mostly between 1944 and 2009. Most titles are 1B1U (single user at a time).
After you run your search narrow, with the options on the left side of the screen, to book chapters.
After you run your search, use the options at the left side of the screen to narrow to books.
Full-text collection of over 200 core academic subjects, language and quotation dictionaries, as well as Oxford University Press encyclopedias and companions series.
Oxford Art Online
Online gateway for Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference works.
Academic Search Complete
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Art Full Text
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals and magazines covering fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Also indexes book reviews, dissertations and art reproductions.
Abstracts journal articles, books, etc. Modern & contemporary art (from the late 19th century onwards), including the history of photography.
Journal article archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. Begins with vol. 1, issue 1, 1800's, or even earlier (most titles exclude the most recent 3-5 years; some titles have current issue access).
Throughout your searches you will see this icon/button:
Click on it to see:
- if the article is online in another database
- if we have a physical copy in the libraries
- if not, and it looks useful for your research, you can request an Interlibrary Loan
To find full text for articles or ebooks when using our Discovery Search, click the Access Online button: