Finding Articles | Finding Books - HONR 101G: FYS: Crops, Cures & Capital: Plants in Human Cultures

Searching for articles...start with these database:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are looking for research articles on medical topics.
- What's included? Scholarly full text journals covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Science Direct College Editions This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are looking for full-text scholarly articles on science, education, psychology and business topics.
- What's included? Full-text of over 500 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are looking for articles and reports on environmental issues.
- What's included? Over 100 journals and over 5,400 open research reports. Subtopics include sustainable business practices, urban planning and development, disaster readiness, conversation, climatology, resource management, energy policy.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need articles covering biological, ecological, and environmental science topics.
- What's included? A collection of full-text journals, mostly from small societies and non-commercial publishers, covering fields such as zoology, plant sciences, ornithology, and entomology.
Biological Sciences This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need biology resources.
- What's included? A mix of scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications covering biology, biomedicine and related subjects.

Google Scholar

Journals to consider for primary research articles in plant ecology

These are titles the DePauw Libraries has active subscriptions; links have been added below taking you to to the Library catalog. Different providers offer different years of coverage, so be sure to scroll down within the title record to see print holdings and the Access Online link for online coverage.

General Science Magazines & News Sources

Science News: free website and on-campus access via EBSCO

The Scientist: free website and on-campus access via EBSCO

Scientific American and via JSTOR (back issues)

New Scientist: free website and on-campus access via EBSCO (30 day delay)

Discover: free website and on-campus access via EBSCO

American Scientist: back issues (1942-2016) are in JSTOR. 2002-present issues are in Academic Search Complete

Science Section of the New York Times

Books of interest

Traveling Cultures and Plants by Andrea Pieroni (Editor); Ina Vandebroek (Editor)
Call Number: Available as an ebook
Grains for Every Season by Joshua McFadden; Martha Holmberg
Call Number: ROW General Collection TX808 .M24 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Grist : a practical guide to cooking grains, beans, seeds, and legumes : 140+ recipes and 160+ variations by Abra Berens
Call Number: ROW General Collection TX808 .B39 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Taste Makers: Seven immigrant women who revolutionized food in America by Mayukh Sen
Call Number: ROW General Collection TX649 .A1 S46 2022
Publication Date: 2021
Native American Medicinal Plants by Daniel E. Moerman; Colby Eierman
Call Number: ROW Library General Collection RS171 .M64 2009 and avaialble online
Publication Date: 2009