Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Background Information
The resources included below include dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, etc. that can help you get started with your research and can help you as you begin reading your topic and need to look up a word or person.
Oxford Art Online
Good place to look for biographies of your artist. And to look generally for history of art in the country your artist is from/produces art.
To find books (and more!) use DePauw's Discovery search. It will also search materials owned by libraries all over the world.
Finding Articles in Library Databases
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re looking for peer-reviewed art resources.
- What's included? Peer-reviewed articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals and magazines covering fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Also indexes book reviews, dissertations, and art reproductions.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re researching topics related to Art, Art History, Prints, Photography, and Film.
- What's included? Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art (from the late 19th century onwards), including the history of photography.
Art & Architecture ePortal (A&AePortal) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re researching topics related to art and architecture; including urban history, art history and theory, conservation and technical studies, decorative arts and material culture, design and graphic design, fashion and textile history, landscape studies, or photography and film.
- What's included? Many out-of-print titles, key backlist, peer-reviewed born-digital content, and recent releases from academic and museum publishers are available as eBooks exclusively on A&AePortal.
International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re looking for materials regarding European, American, and global art.
- What's included? Provides coverage of international art scholarship ranging from European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
Finding Articles in Newspapers
New York Times This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need primary source material on world news, arts and culture, technology, science and more within the last 40 years.
- What's included? Full-text (but not page images) from the late 2000s to the present.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need news, law cases and reviews, and company financial information.
- What's included? A full-text article database of popular and trade news from around the world; company profiles; accounting literature and legal information largely focusing on U.S. and North America.