Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To find books (and more!) use DePauw's Discovery search. It will also search materials owned by libraries all over the world.
Finding Background Information
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Atlases, Handbooks, etc. are an excellent place to start any information finding (research) process. The resource listed below includes many of these useful sources.
Finding Articles in Library Databases
Academic Search Complete
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Humanities Full Text
Articles from 300+ humanities journals, indexes 700. 1980+. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Journal article archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. Begins with vol. 1, issue 1, 1800's, or even earlier (most titles exclude the most recent 3-5 years; some titles have current issue access).
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. 1925+ and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) provides access to hundreds of books from Oxford University Press. Humanities, social sciences, science, medicine, and law.
Show Your Source
Add your name and citation for your source to our shared doc.