Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
image from http://www.tc.columbia.edu/academics/index.htm?facid=dw2020
Selected Publications of Dr. Sue
Race Talk and the Conspiracy of Silence by Learn to talk about race openly, honestly, and productively Most people avoid discussion of race-related topics because of the strong emotions and feelings of discomfort that inevitably accompany such conversations. Rather than endure the conflict of racial realities, many people choose instead to avoid the topic altogether, or remain silent when it is raised. Race Talk and the Conspiracy of Silence: Understanding and Facilitating Difficult Dialogues on Race puts an end to that dynamic by sharing strategies for smoothing conversations about race in a productive manner. A guide for facilitating and participating in difficult dialogues about race, author Derald Wing Sue - an internationally recognized expert on multiculturalism, diversity, and microaggressions - explores the characteristics, dynamics, and meaning behind discussions about race as well as the hidden "ground rules" that inhibit honest and productive dialogue. Through emotional and visceral examples, this book explains why conversations revolving around racial issues are so difficult, and provides guidelines, techniques, and advice for navigating and leading honest and forthright discussions. Readers will develop a stronger ability to build rapport with people unlike themselves, and discover how not talking about race impacts society as a whole. Overcome and make visible the fears associated with race talk Learn practical ideas for talking openly about race Facilitate and navigate discussion with expert strategy Examine the hidden rules that govern race talk Understand the benefits of successful conversations Discussions about race do not have to result in disastrous consequences, and can in fact be highly beneficial to all parties involved. It's important that people have the ability to converse openly and honestly with their students, colleagues, children, and neighbors, and Race Talk provides the path for achieving this goal.
Call Number: ON ORDER
Publication Date: 2015
Microaggressions in Everyday Life by Praise for Microaggressions in Everyday Life "In a very constructive way, Dr. Sue provides time-testedpsychological suggestions to make our society free ofmicroaggressions. It is a brilliant resource and ideal teachingtool for all those who wish to alter the forces that promote painfor people." -Melba J. T. Vasquez, PhD, ABPPPresident, AmericanPsychological Association "Microaggressions in Everyday Life offers an insightful,scholarly, and thought-provoking analysis of the existence ofsubtle, often unintentional biases, and their profound impact onmembers of traditionally disadvantaged groups. The concept ofmicroaggressions is one of the most important developments in thestudy of intergroup relations over the past decade, and this volumeis the definitive source on the topic." -John F. Dovidio, PhD Professor of Psychology, YaleUniversity "Derald Wing Sue has written a must-read book for anyone whodeals with diversity at any level. Microaggressions in EverydayLife will bring great rewards in understanding and awarenessalong with practical guides to put them to good use." -James M. Jones, PhD Professor of Psychology and Directorof Black American Studies, University of Delaware "This is a major contribution to the multicultural discourse andto understanding the myriad ways that discrimination can berepresented and its insidious effects. Accessible and welldocumented, it is a pleasure to read." -Beverly Greene, PhD, ABPP Diplomate in ClinicalPsychology and Professor of Psychology, St. John'sUniversity A transformative look at covert bias, prejudice, anddiscrimination with hopeful solutions for their eventualdissolution Written by bestselling author Derald Wing Sue,Microaggressions in Everyday Life: Race, Gender, and SexualOrientation is a first-of-its-kind guide on the subject ofmicroaggressions. This book insightfully looks at the various kindsof microaggressions and their psychological effects on bothperpetrators and their targets. Thought provoking and timely, Dr.Sue suggests realistic and optimistic guidance forcombating-and ending-microaggressions in oursociety.
Call Number: ROW BF575.A3 S88 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Microaggressions and Marginality by A landmark volume exploring covert bias, prejudice, anddiscrimination with hopeful solutions for their eventualdissolution Exploring the psychological dynamics of unconscious andunintentional expressions of bias and prejudice toward sociallydevalued groups, Microaggressions and Marginality: Manifestation,Dynamics, and Impact takes an unflinching look at the numerousmanifestations of these subtle biases. It thoroughly deals with theharm engendered by everyday prejudice and discrimination, as wellas the concept of microaggressions beyond that of race andexpressions of racism. Edited by a nationally renowned expert in the field ofmulticultural counseling and ethnic and minority issues, this bookfeatures contributions by notable experts presenting originalresearch and scholarly works on a broad spectrum of groups in oursociety who have traditionally been marginalized anddisempowered. The definitive source on this topic, Microaggressions andMarginality features: In-depth chapters on microaggressions towards racial/ethnic,international/cultural, gender, LGBT, religious, social, anddisabled groups Chapters on racial/ethnic microaggressions devoted to specificpopulations including African Americans, Latino/Hispanic Americans,Asian Americans, indigenous populations, and biracial/multiracialpeople A look at what society must do if it is to reduce prejudice anddiscrimination directed at these groups Discussion of the common dynamics of covert and unintentionalbiases Coping strategies enabling targets to survive suchonslaughts Timely and thought-provoking, Microaggressions and Marginalityis essential reading for any professional dealing with diversity atany level, offering guidance for facing and opposingmicroaggressions in today's society.
Call Number: ROW BF575.A3 M445 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Case Studies in Multicultural Counseling and Therapy by "Case Studies in Multicultural Counseling and Therapy is a magnificent resource that will help create a greater bridge of understanding between the academic, research, and applied domains of the mental health professions." -From the Foreword by Thomas A. Parham, PhD, Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs, University of California, Irvine; Distinguished Psychologist, Association of Black Psychologists An indispensable collection of real-life clinical cases from practicing experts in the field of multicultural counseling and psychotherapy Case Studies in Multicultural Counseling and Therapy is a one-of-a-kind resource presenting actual cases illustrating assessment, diagnostic, and treatment concerns associated with specific populations. The contributors-well-known mental health professionals who specialize in multicultural counseling and psychotherapy-draw on their personal experiences to empower therapists in developing an individually tailored treatment plan that effectively addresses presenting problems in a culturally responsive manner. Providing readers with the opportunity to think critically about multicultural factors and how they impact assessment, diagnosis, and treatment, this unique book: Covers ethical issues and evidence-based practice Integrates therapists' reflections on their own social identity and how this may have influenced their work with their clients Considers the intersectionality of racial/ethnic, class, religious, gender, and sexual identities Contains reflection and discussion questions, an analysis of each case by the author, and recommended resources Includes cases on racial/ethnic minority populations, gender, sexuality, poverty, older adults, immigrants, refugees, and white therapists working with people of color Aligns with the ACA's CACREP accreditation standards, tha APA guidelines for multicultural competence, and the AMCD Multicultural Counseling Competencies
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2013
What does it mean to be white? the invisible whiteness of being (VHS tape)
Roy O. West Library Media E184.A1 W52 2004
Racial Microaggressions and Difficult Dialogues on Race in the Classroom
Source: Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology, Vol 15(2), Apr, 2009. pp. 183-190
Race talk: The psychology of racial dialogues.
Source: American Psychologist, Vol 68(8), Nov, 2013. pp. 663-672
Racial microaggressions and daily well-being among Asian Americans.
Source: Journal of Counseling Psychology, Vol 60(2), Apr, 2013. pp. 188-199
Racial dialogues: Challenges faculty of color face in the classroom.
Source: Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology, Vol 17(3), Jul, 2011. pp. 331-340
Citations from Dr. Sue's presentation (in the order he referenced them)
On slide about Maya Angelou
The Complete Collected Poems of Maya Angelou by
Call Number: ROW Recreational Reading Fiction A
Publication Date: 1994
contains the poem "Still I Rise"
On slide about Racial Microaggression Impact
Here's a tip: Think before you insult
Star Tribune (Minneapolis, MN) - August 10, 2009
On slide about Microaggressive Themes: People of Color and Women in Academia
Faculty of color in academe: What 20 years of literature tells us.
Source: Journal of Diversity in Higher Education, Vol 1(3), Sep, 2008. pp. 139-168
Microaggressions and the pipeline for scholars of color.
Authors: Fernando Guzman, Jesus Trevino, Fernand Lubuguin, and Bushra Aryan.
Source: Microaggressions and marginality: Manifestation, dynamics, and impact. Sue, Derald Wing (Ed); Hoboken, NJ, US: John Wiley & Sons Inc; 2010. 145-167 - (Call # - ROW BF575.A3 M445 2010)
Race, Research and Tenure
Source: Journal of Black Studies. Sep2003, Vol. 34 Issue 1, p87.
On slide about Harmful Impact
Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria? by Walk into any racially mixed high school and you will see Black youth seated together in the cafeteria. Of course, it’s not just the Black kids sitting togetherthe White, Latino, Asian Pacific, and in some regions, American Indian youth, are clustered in their own groups, too. The same phenomenon can be observed in college dining halls, faculty lounges, and in corporate cafeterias.What is going on here? Is this self-segregation a problem we should try to fix, or a coping strategy we should support? How can we get past our reluctance to talk about racial issues to even discuss it? And what about the other questions we and our children have about race?Beverly Daniel Tatum is a renowned authority on the psychology of racism. She asserts that we do not know how to talk about our racial differences: Whites are afraid of using the wrong words and being perceived as racist.” Parents of color are afraid of exposing their children to painful racial realities too soon. Tatum understands that the vocabulary of race is loaded and that embarrassment and awkwardness often stymie conversations about this subject; yet, she believes that these obstacles can and must be overcome if we are to bring about change.In Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria?” And Other Conversations About Race, Dr. Tatum provides us with a new way of thinking and talking about race through the lens of racial identity. She explains that all of us have a racial identity and must strive to affirm it. For people of color, the development of a constructive racial identity requires being able to recognize and reject the bombardment of negative stereotypes and to embrace a history of resistance and empowerment rather than passive victimization. For Whites, the challenge is to engage in a process of racial identity development which leads to an awareness of White privilege and a determination to actively work against injusticeand this requires the strength to reject a system that awards them, and to reclaim the legacy of White allies. For many, this is uncharted territory. This book provides a road map for those who want to make the journey and better understand the racial dynamics of their daily lives.Tatum extends her ideas about racial identity development beyond the usual Black-White paradigm to embrace the unique circumstances of Latinos, American Indians, Asians, as well as biracial youth. Also included is a list of resources for further reading as well as a list of books for parents and teachers to recommend to children of all ages.Using real-life examples and the latest research, Tatum presents strong evidence that straight talk about our racial identitieswhatever they may beis essential if we are serious about facilitating communication across racial and ethnic divides. We have waited far too long to begin our conversations about race. This remarkable book, infused with great wisdom and humanity, tells us where to start.
Call Number: ROW E185.625 .T38 1997 (also at PCPL at 305.8 TAT)
Publication Date: 1997