Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To find books (and more!) use DePauw's Discovery search. It will also search materials owned by libraries all over the world.
Where to find biographical information and articles (Databases)
Databases are where multiple journals make individual articles available. You can search strategically in databases to efficiently find what you are looking for without being overwhelmed with unrelated articles. Some ways of searching efficiently are to keep your search terms short. Try to only use 1-2 words per box. Use 'and', 'or', or 'not' to limit your searches; for example, "Robespierre AND French Revolution" or "Robespierre NOT Girondins".
If you have questions or need any help, visit the Research Desk in Roy O. West, or contact firstname.lastname@example.org!
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference is a great source for your first presentation to get biographical information about your individual.
Secondary sources (databases with academic articles)
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
When using this source, make sure to use the left-hand box to limit your search results.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Use the "Search within Results" box to narrow down your results to the articles that will be the most useful.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project Muse contains many history journals- use the left-hand box to limit your results. Muse also includes many book reviews, of which may be useful to find books that may help you.
Books on reserve in Roy for your course
The Oxford History of the French Revolution by
Publication Date: 1990
A Critical Dictionary of the French Revolution by
Publication Date: 1989
Historical Dictionary of the French Revolution, 1789-1799 by
Publication Date: 1985
Primary source documents are items that were originally published or created at the time of the event or person you are studying. They can be photographs, paintings, pamphlets, diaries, newspaper articles, etc. For this course, you are required to use primary source documents. Use the following links to search for primary source documents regarding your person from the French Revolution.
Here is some help on How to Read a Primary Source via the University of Iowa.