It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biology Summer Research 2020: Quarry Ecology : Databases
This LibGuide will give you an introduction to literature resources you can use during your summer research.
Caroline Gilson, the science librarian, will also be a good human resource. She has an office in the Prevo Science Library, but is working remotely from home (as of March 16, 2020). The DePauw Libraries are closed at this time as well, but library services are still happening online (online ILL, access to databases and e-books, access to the librarians via email, phone or video chat).
Caroline is happy to meet for a research consultation: set up an appointment by emailing email@example.com
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Index of doctoral dissertations and some master's theses from most North American and many European colleges and universities. Starts in 1743. Full text is available for over 1 million, mostly since 1996.
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, government and general-interest titles covering environment, global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy and recycling. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Journal article archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. Begins with vol. 1, issue 1, 1800's, or even earlier (most titles exclude the most recent 3-5 years; some titles have current issue access).
A range of journals, e-books and research reports on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Research spans the Biological Sciences, Business & Economics, Ecology, Environmental Sciences, Law, Public Health, Urban Studies, and many other disciplines.
Includes some 1,600 full-text Elsevier journals in four collections: Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, and Social Sciences & Humanities. Full-text coverage starts in 1995 or later (depending on journal) and continues to the present.
Includes over 1,600 full-text Springer journals in the following fields: behavioral science, biomedical and life sciences, business and economics, chemistry and materials science, computer science, earth and environmental science, engineering, humanities, social sciences and law, mathematics and statistics, medicine. Coverage starts in 1997 or later (depending on the journal) and continues to the present.
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals. Articles are not peer-reviewed, edited, or typeset before being posted online. However, all articles undergo a basic screening process for offensive and/or non-scientific content and for material that might pose a health or biosecurity risk and are checked for plagiarism.
Limits/Filters: Common limiters/filters are language, publication dates, article type, publication type, age groups.
Truncation symbol, [an asterisk (*), dollar sign ($), or plus sign (+), etc.], with the root/stem of a word broadens your search to include various wording endings:
child*=child or children or childhood
Wildcard symbol may also be used to replace a single character to include different spellings:
wom?n for women or woman
(Databases use different symbols so check the searching help.)
Phrase searching: Enclose phrases in double quotation marks to search for that specific phrase (in the order that you typed them): e.g., "heart attack" "health care reform"
Find It and Interlibrary Loan
The Find It Button: When you click on the DePauw "Find It" button within a database (to locate an article), you will be redirected to a web page that searches for print and online access to the journal you are seeking. If there's no match for the article you are seeking, you can make and Interlibrary Loan (ILL request).
ILL Requests: For Summer 2020, ILL requests are for online articles. If you need help locating ebooks, try the DePauw Libraries Discovery Search (on the Libraries home page). You can also try searching the National Emergency Library, where scanned books are freely available to all for the foreseeable future.
The Proceedings of the Indiana Academy of Science is the official publication of the Indiana Academy of Science. Issues go back to our 1885 founding. Prior to 1990 (Vol. 99), the journal was an annual publication, with many of the volumes hard bound. Since 1990 it has been published semiannually, with all issues being paper bound.