Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Current Awareness Services: Keeping Up with the Literature: Reading new issues with Browzine

What is Browzine?

DePauw University Libraries subscribes to the Browzine service, which allows you to connect with a lot of our subscription and open access journals in one user-friendly webpage or app, and browse articles and tables of contents. You can save your favorite journals, and even save individual articles to read later. Note: This will include some journals for which we don't have access to current issues - these will be noted on the journal page like this:

Staying Current with Browzine

Discover New Journals with Browzine

Mobile Interface - Apple

The same functionality exists in the apps as the website - things are just in slightly different places on the screen. The "subjects" are available to browse from a pull-down menu. 

You can go to your "My Bookshelf" area from the bottom of the screen.

The "My Articles" screen is also available from the menu at the bottom of the screen. 

An individual volume's Table of Contents looks like the following: 

Finally, when viewing an article, you can save it to "My Articles" easily

Using the Web Version

  1. Go to https://browzine.com/libraries/1792/subjects.
  2. Click on "My Bookshelf" in the top bar, then choose the "Sign up" link to create an account. You'll want this later so that you can save journals and articles of interest. You can browse journals without this step, however - you just won't be able to save them.

  3. Browse by subject, or search for a specific title.


  4. When you click on a journal title, you can then browse issues for the past several years, and click on articles to read. At this point, Browzine is connecting you with the article text in the databases where they're held (JSTOR, Ebsco, etc.), so it will take you to another interface.

    If you are off-campus, you'll be prompted to log in to your DePauw account via the "proxy server" in order to read the articles. This is the same username & password used to log into Moodle and e-Services. 
  5. Add journals of interest to "my bookshelf." 


  6. Add articles to read later to "my articles." 


  7. After clicking on the “Save to my Articles” button, it will ask you which collection you want to save it to. “General Collection” is the default (in my example, I’ve renamed this to “Libraries”). You can choose to add it to another collection, or create a new one. You cannot move it among collections later.


     
  8. On "My Bookshelf," you can organize and arrange your journals in categories that are meaningful for you. Journals with new articles will be identified with a red circle with the number of unread articles listed. 


  9. You can clear that notification by reading the articles, or by marking an entire issue OR journal as read. 

 

  1. On the "My Articles" screen, you'll see the articles you've saved. All articles went to the "General Collection" section unless you stated otherwise. You can rename this collection (as I've done here - to "Libraries"), but you cannot delete it. You can create new collections on this screen for saving future articles - but you cannot move articles among collections.