Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Starting Your Search
- It helps to start by writing a list of terms that you will use in your search.
- Keep notes as you research, the terms you used, where you searched, what you found.
- Once you have some terms do some background research to add more terms to your list.
- Now you have a bit more information on your topic start looking for more in depth information.
- Search for books, use the bibliography to find even more books or articles. Call numbers starting with A-D are on the second floor, E-Z are on the third floor.
- Use library databases to search for articles.
- As you encounter words, theories, etc. that you don't know circle back to do more background reading.
The librarians and your professor are here every step of the way.
Full-text collection of over 200 core academic subjects, language and quotation dictionaries, as well as Oxford University Press encyclopedias and companions series.
To find books (and more!) use DePauw's Discovery search. It will also search materials owned by libraries all over the world.
Academic Search Complete
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
PsycARTICLES (APA PsycArticles)
Full-text coverage from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Includes both scholarly journals and trade magazines. Offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of nearly 200 more. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 440 journals. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Current issues of American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins. Journal issues generally appear online prior to distribution in print.
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals journals covering sociology and social work.