Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Starting Points for Research
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
The ACS Online Journals package provides the full text of over 30 peer reviewed journals and magazines published by the American Chemical Society. The articles are fully searchable and are available in full text in pdf format. The ACS Journal Archives extends the online full text of ACS publications back to their inaugural issues, over 120 years of content.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Literature reviews in biomedical sciences, physical sciences and social sciences.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, government and general-interest titles covering environment, global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy and recycling. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journal article archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. Begins with vol. 1, issue 1, 1800's, or even earlier (most titles exclude the most recent 3-5 years; some titles have current issue access).
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
Science Direct College Editions This link opens in a new window
Includes some 1,600 full-text Elsevier journals in four collections: Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, and Social Sciences & Humanities. Full-text coverage starts in 1995 or later (depending on journal) and continues to the present.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n is the most comprehensive database for the chemical literature, searchable by topic, author, substances by name or CAS Registry Number, OR use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. SciFinder-n is the new version of SciFinder.
If you already have a SciFinder account, you will be able to log in to SciFinder-n via the new platform and do not need to set up a new account. If you are new to SciFinder-n, please contact Caroline Gilson (email@example.com) for Registration information. You MUST use an email address that ends with "depauw.edu"