Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to Summer Research 2019!
This LibGuide will give you an introduction to literature resources you can use during your summer research.
Caroline Gilson, the science librarian, will also be a good human resource. She has an office in the Prevo Science Library and also works over at the ROW Library. (NOTE: Caroline will be out of the office July 4-21.) Caroline is happy to meet for a research consultation, and it may be best to set up an appointment by emailing email@example.com
Prevo Science Library Summer 2019 Hours: 9am to 5pm Monday-Thursday and 9am to 12noon on Fridays; closed Saturday and Sunday.
Starting Points for Research
Academic Search Complete
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Literature reviews in biomedical sciences, physical sciences and social sciences.
Journal article archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. Begins with vol. 1, issue 1, 1800's, or even earlier (most titles exclude the most recent 3-5 years; some titles have current issue access).
Science Direct College Editions
Includes some 1,600 full-text Elsevier journals in four collections: Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, and Social Sciences & Humanities. Full-text coverage starts in 1995 or later (depending on journal) and continues to the present.
SciFinder / Chemical Abstracts
SciFinder provides you with full access to the Chemical Abstracts database going back to 1907. SciFinder requires user registration; please contact Caroline Gilson (firstname.lastname@example.org) for registration information. You MUST use an email address that ends with "depauw.edu"
PROLA - American Physical Society
PROLA is The American Physical Society's Physical Review Online Archive. PROLA is the concrete expression of APS's commitment to ensuring the immediate and long-term accessibility all journal content that APS publishes.
Institute of Physics Journals Full-text
Full text articles from professional & scholarly physics journals.
Physics research journals, including Physical Review Letters, Physical Review, and Reviews of Modern Physics. 1893-present