Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Background Information
The books listed below are shelved on the first floor of the library, and can be checked out for three days.
Full-text collection of over 200 core academic subjects, language and quotation dictionaries, as well as Oxford University Press encyclopedias and companions series.
Oxford Art Online
Online gateway for Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference works.
Find full text
Throughout your searches you will see this icon/button:
Click on it to see:
- if the article is online in another database
- if we have a physical copy in the libraries
- if not, and it looks useful for your research, you can request an InterLibrary Loan
To find full text for articles or ebooks when using our Discovery Search, click the Access Online button:
To find books (and more!) use DePauw's Discovery search. It will also search materials owned by libraries all over the world.
Finding Articles in Library Databases
Academic Search Complete
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Art Full Text
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals and magazines covering fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Also indexes book reviews, dissertations and art reproductions.
Journal article archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. Begins with vol. 1, issue 1, 1800's, or even earlier (most titles exclude the most recent 3-5 years; some titles have current issue access).
Full-text articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses; includes literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy and religion, political science, medicine and health, gender studies. Most coverage 1990s to present, consult the journal list, as coverage varies for each title. NOTE: DePauw subscribes only to the journal coverage (Premium Collection) and not the digital book collection.
Abstracts journal articles, books, etc. Modern & contemporary art (from the late 19th century onwards), including the history of photography.
Popular Sources: Newspapers, Magazines
U.S. Major Dailies
Includes 1985+ of the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, the Chicago Tribune, and the Los Angeles Times.
Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, predominately in the United States, 1959-present. Includes Asian-American, Jewish-American, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European-American, multi-ethnic communities and more.
A full-text article database of popular and trade news from around the world; company profiles; accounting literature and legal information largely focusing on U.S. and North America.
Using Interlibrary Loan
Sometimes we don't have access to the item you want, but we have a way of getting it for you...Interlibrary Loan. If you don't find a link to full-text or a call number, you'll see this button:
If you request an item using Interlibrary Loan, it will take up to 7-10 days to be received. When the item comes in, you will be notified by e-mail. Some items will be available electronically in your ILL account; others you will pick up at the Circulation desk.
Login to ILLiad to enter information for a request that you need to make manually, to check the status of a request, or to request a renewal.