Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Databases?
Databases are research tools that help you find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, or other information sources like books, book reviews, videos, and maps.
Some focus on a kind of source (like newspaper articles); most of DePauw's library of databases focus on scholarly research in a specific academic field.
Keywords are the words you will use to search electronic catalogs, databases and the Internet. You can miss lots of useful information if you don't use keywords effectively, because computers will only search on the terms you provide.
You should think about:
- synonyms (e.g. mobile telephones, cell phones)
- plural/singular forms (e.g. women, woman)
- spelling variations (e.g. globalisation, globalization)
- variations of a root word (e.g. feminism, feminist, feminine)
- acronyms (e.g. non-governmental organisation, NGO)
- regional & historic variations (e.g. Native American or Indian)
- broader and narrower terms (e.g. drugs - cannabis, heroin, cocaine)
- words which go out of everyday use, especially if searching for sources in history e.g. pauperism rather than poor
When you start searching note any useful alternative words that occur during your searches and add them to your keyword list.
from URL: http://collyers.libguides.com/research
Useful Databases for Classical Studies
Academic Search Complete
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Loeb Classical Library
Full text online access to works of ancient Greek and Latin literature. Presents the original Greek or Latin text on each left-hand page, and a fairly literal translation on the facing page.
Humanities Full Text
Articles from 300+ humanities journals, indexes 700. 1980+. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
Abstracts and citations to articles in scholarly and popular journals and magazines covering the humanities and social sciences.
Journal article archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. Begins with vol. 1, issue 1, 1800's, or even earlier (most titles exclude the most recent 3-5 years; some titles have current issue access).
Access and Outreach Services Librarian
Scholarly Trade and Popular Articles