Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art & Art History Databases
The databases listed below will be useful in your research.
This database provides abstracts of articles on modern and contemporary art topics from the late 19th century forward.
International Bibliography of Art
This database provides abstracts or articles, book chapters and exhibition catalogs. It includes topics in art from painting and sculpture to drawing and photography.
Provides full-text articles from a wide variety of art and art history journals from their first issues until the last five years.
Provides full-text articles from a variety of journals.
Academic Search Complete
This database is a good place to start your research. It covers a wide variety of topics and is a good place to find new keywords to add to your search.
Art Full Text
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals and magazines covering fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Also indexes book reviews, dissertations and art reproductions.
Art Index Retrospective:1929-1984
Abstracts and citations to articles, interviews, reviews, yearbooks and museum bulletins (published in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch) covering fine, decorative and commercial art.
Bibliography of the History of Art
Abstracts journal articles, books, exhibition catalogues, etc. Visual arts: traditional fine arts (painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture); decorative & applied arts; material culture; photography & contemporary new media; visual arts aspects of performing arts. The name BHA has been used informally to refer to a group of databases: RAA, RILA, BHA, and IBA. The data available on the Getty Web site as of July 1, 2010, comprises two databases: BHA and RILA. BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/Bibliographie d'histoire de l'art) covers the years 1990–2007; the Getty Web version includes all records with abstracts in French or English and all subject terms in French and English. RILA (Répertoire de la litterature de l'art), covers 1975–1989; the Getty Web version includes all records with abstracts in English and all subject terms in English. At present, the Getty has no plans to add RAA (Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie), which covers 1973–1989.