Finding Articles in Databases - EDUC 170 - Foundations of Education (Alexander)

ERIC Database

Covers from 1966-present. ERIC contains two types of records:

citations to journal articles, which may be linked as full-text. If not, you will need to click on the "Find It" button to see if it's available full-text in another database, available in our libraries, or to order it via interlibrary loan.
ERIC documents, which are documents that are not necessarily available in any other location - conference proceedings, government reports, school district publications, etc. We have many of these older ones available on microfiche. Many of the recent ones are available full-text through ERIC. These may or may not be peer reviewed.

ERIC
- Why search here? You’re researching topics related to education, from preschool to college.
- What's included? Lists 1.5 million sources dating from 1966 to the present, including scholarly articles, but also many reports and conference proceedings.

Professional Development Collection
- Why search here? You need professional development materials for educators.
- What's included? Professional Development Collection contains professional development resources for educators with 500 scholarly journals and 230 professional reports.
JSTOR
- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
Academic Search Complete
- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
Google Scholar
- Why search here? You need a variety of scholarly and professional sources like journal articles, books, reports, and proceedings.
- What's included? Information about published sources, sometimes with links to the full-text, covering most disciplines.
- Note:Follow these instructions to set your Google Scholar settings for access to DePauw's Full Text when available: Google Scholar FAQ