Skip to main content

Music Citations: Turabian/Chicago Style: Grove Music

This guide will assist with formatting music citations using the Turabian/Chicago style. For more info, consult Turabian Manual: MUS REFPN203.T8 2007 or consult Chicago Manual online at: http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/16/contents.html

Citation Format: Grove Music Online. B=Bibliography | F=Footnote

Deane Root is the editor for Grove Online.

B: Entry's Author Last Name, First. "Title of entry." Grove Music Online. Edited by Deane Root. Accessed Day Month, Year. http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com.

B: Strickland, Edward. "Glass, Philip." Grove Music Online. Edited by Deane Root. Accessed 1 October, 2016. http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com.

F: Edward Stickland, "Glass, Philip," Grove Music Online, ed. Deane Root, accessed 1 October, 2016, http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com.

Grove in Print Format

Citation Format, New Grove in Print | B = Bibliography | F = Footnote

B: Article Author Last Name, First. "Title of Article." The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Edited by Stanley Sadie and J. Tyrrell. London: Macmillan, 2001. Volume: page number.

B: Neighbour, O.W. "Schoenberg, Arnold." The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Edited by Stanley Sadie and J. Tyrrell. London: Macmillan, 2001. xvii: 745.

F: ¹Article Author First Name Last, "Title of Article," The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, eds. Stanley Sadie and J. Tyrell (London: Macmillan, 2001), Volume, page number.

F¹O.W. Neighbour, "Title of Article," The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, eds. Stanley Sadie and J. Tyrell (London: Macmillan, 2001), xvii: 745.

So special...

Grove Music gets its very own tab because it's special. Grove calls itself a dictionary, but functions like an encyclopedia, yet features signed articles by experts in their fields. The citation format provided here is a hybrid of the journal article style and the signed article encyclopedia style.