Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Databases?
Research tools that help you find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, or other information sources like books, videos, and maps.
Some databases focus on a kind of source (like newspaper articles); most of ours focus on scholarly research in a specific academic field.
Click on in citation
Lists full-text options
Tells you if we own it in print
Allows you to borrow it if we dont own it (via Interlibrary Loan)
Finding Articles Using Databases
The ACS Online Journals package provides the full text of over 30 peer reviewed journals and magazines published by the American Chemical Society. The articles are fully searchable and are available in full text in pdf format. The ACS Journal Archives extends the online full text of ACS publications back to their inaugural issues, over 120 years of content.
Literature reviews in biomedical sciences, physical sciences and social sciences.
Cambridge Structural Database
Available on Prevo Science Library Scholar Station, Lower Level. This software contains crystal structure information for over 450,000 organic and metal organic compounds. All of these crystal structures have been analysed using X-ray or neutron diffraction techniques. The CSD records bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic information for organic molecules and metal-organic compounds. The CSD records results of single crystal studies and powder diffraction studies.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names
MEDLINE with Full Text
This database covers all aspects of biomedicine including molecular biology, genetics, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, medical issues and conditions. For more specific vocabulary searching, use MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals Archive
Includes all back issues of RSC journal titles, up to 1996, as well as online access to selected current titles.
SciFinder / Chemical Abstracts
SciFinder provides you with full access to the Chemical Abstracts database going back to 1907. SciFinder requires user registration; please contact Caroline Gilson (email@example.com) for registration information. You MUST use an email address that ends with "depauw.edu"