LibGuides: EDUC 480/490: Education Research Methods &amp; Senior Seminar: Journals &amp; Magazines

ERIC Database

Covers from 1966-present. ERIC contains two types of records:

citations to journal articles, which may be linked as full-text. If not, you will need to click on the SFX button to see if it's available full-text in another database, available in our libraries, or to order it via interlibrary loan.
ERIC documents, which are documents (like reports or conference proceedings) that are not necessarily available in any other location. Some are available full-text through ERIC (though few before 1993, and many not at all). Some may have to be requested through Interlibrary Loan (choose a Book Request form, and add the ED# in the notes field with an explanation that it's an ERIC document).

ERIC This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re researching topics related to education, from preschool to college.
- What's included? Lists 1.5 million sources dating from 1966 to the present, including scholarly articles, but also many reports and conference proceedings.

Other Databases

Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need professional development materials for educators.
- What's included? Professional Development Collection contains professional development resources for educators with 500 scholarly journals and 230 professional reports.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You're doing research in Psychology or Neuroscience.
- What's included? Coverage back to 1600s, from 2300 journals.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re researching topics about gender issues.
- What's included? Articles from journals, magazines, newspapers (some working papers & dissertations), published since 1970. Almost all are full text. Gender studies, men's studies, & women's studies.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re writing about a topic in sociology or related fields.
- What's included? International academic literature of sociology and related disciplines, including the companion file Social Services Abstracts, which is current research focused on social work & human services. Mostly from 1990s+.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re doing research for a Kinesiology class.
- What's included? Citations to articles from over 600 journals, covering topics such as athletic training, coaching, health education, kinesiology, nutrition, occupational health, PE, physical therapy, sociology/psychology of sports, sports management, and sports science.