Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General or broad sites
American Memory This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need primary and secondary sources for research..
- What's included? Millions of digitized historical items, including books, newspapers, manuscripts, prints and photographs, maps, musical scores, films, sound recordings and more.
Colonial era & American Revolution
The American Colonist's Library
Links to various other websites - a large compilation of the literature and documents which were most relevant to the colonists' lives in America.
Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archive
electronic collection of primary source materials relating to the Salem witch trials of 1692 and a new transcription of the court records.
The Plymouth Colony Archive Project
a collection of fully searchable texts, including: court records, colony laws, seventeenth century journals and memoirs, probate inventories, wills, town plans, maps, and fort plans; research and seminar analyses of numerous topics; biographical profiles
Colonial Connecticut Records
the complete, digitized volumes of the Public Records of the Colony of Connecticut, 1636-1776.
Maps/images, court records, labor contracts, public records, letters, first-hand accounts, and newspapers that document the Jamestown Settlement and "the Virginia Experiment."
Free Speech Movement Digital Archive home
Text documents highlight the role of participants in the Free Speech Movement at U.C. Berkeley in the 1960s. Includes letters, journals, meeting minutes, newsletters, oral histories, pamphlets, press releases, reports, speeches, and statements. Media Cent
Online Campaign Literature Archive
flyers and other campaign material from California and some United States elections from 1908 on.
Advertising & Business
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920
over 9000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the U.S.
over 7000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955, especially in the areas of Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty & Hygiene, and World War II.
Medicine and Madison Avenue homepage
images and database information for approximately 600 health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines. These ads illustrate the variety and evolution of marketing images from the 1910s through the 1950s. The collection represents a wide
Civil War through Reconstruction
Making of America
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science & technology.
The Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War
documents, including newspaper articles, public records, church records, images, maps, military records, letters, and diaries, from 2 towns during the Civil War era - Augusta County, Virginia and Franklin County, Pennsylvania.
Letters Home from an Iowa Soldier in the American Civil War
part of a collection written by Newton Robert Scott, Private, Company A, of the 36th Infantry, Iowa Volunteers. Most of the letters were written to Scott's neighborhood friend Hannah Cone, in their home town of Albia, Monroe County, Iowa, over the three y
Civil War Women: Primary Sources on the Internet
links to primary sources on the Internet that are directly related to women and the Civil War.
SCETI: Civil War
This archive enables students and other researchers to use primary documents in their study of political, economic, social, religious, racial and gender issues from the Jacksonian Era to the Gilded Age.
Documenting the American South
a digital publishing initiative that provides access to texts, images, & audio files related to southern history, lit, and culture. Currently includes 10 thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews & songs
A HUDSON RIVER PORTFOLIO
prints, literature, historical account, guidebooks, maps, and photos.
Cleveland Digital Library
A digital collection of texts, maps, and images, as well as access tools for digital and non-digital works, all concerning the history of greater Cleveland and the Western Reserve region of northeastern Ohio.
full-text collection of over 400 items, over 900 land ownership maps, census schedules, etc. - from 19th and early 20th century
Oral History Digital Program
collects and preserves first-person narratives of northeastern Ohioans who have participated in, or closely observed events which have significantly affected both the state and nation - tons of interview transcripts on many subjects
Women Working, 1800-1930
focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pa
Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement - Duke Special Collections
document various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States, and focus specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s. Items range from radical theoretical writings to humourous plays to the
American Women's History: Digital Collections
Links, by category, to lots of artifacts available online.
Federal Theatre Project Collection: Home Page
includes over 13,000 images of items selected from the Federal Theatre Project Collection at the Library of Congress. Featured here are stage and costume designs, still photographs, posters, and scripts for productions of Macbeth and The Tragical History
Performing Arts in America, 1875-1923
a searchable database of 16,000 objects representing archival materials. Included are clippings from a broad range of newspapers; composite photographs, called "keysheets" that contain large numbers of reduced-size promotional shots; music sheet samples f
Historic American Sheet Music
The Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University holds a significant collection of 19th and early 20th century American sheet music. The Historic American Sheet Music Project provides access to digital images of 3042 pieces fr
Popular Songs in American History
includes lyrics and some tunes, along with background information on songs, divided by major events or eras (War of 1812, Gold Rush, etc.)
Charles H. Templeton Sr. Music Museum ::: Sheet Music
sheet music collection from late nineteenth and early twentieth century America, covering a wide variety of music genres, including ragtime, dixieland, patriotic anthems, and big band sounds.
19th Century California Sheet Music Project
A virtual library of some 2,000 pieces of sheet music published in California between 1852 and 1900
19th Century Schoolbooks
searchable set of 140+ titles, representing grammar, spelling, reading, arithmetic, geography, American history, civics, physiology, penmanship, and letter-writing.
The Thomas A. Edison Papers
Over Five Million Pages of Documents... chronicle one of the most creative technical innovators in the history of the world—Thomas Alva Edison.
SCETI: Smith Collection
images of scientists, apparatus, and laboratories which elaborate on the history of chemistry