Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These books are being kept at the Research Desk for quick consultation and copying.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Passage by For the first time, the Middle Passage--the experience of slaves on the trans-Atlantic ships--receives a full reference treatment in an encyclopedia. This A-to-Z reference consists of 226 signed entries arranged alphabetically, exhaustively covering the Middle Passage from a variety of perspectives for student research and browsing. Each essay entry concludes with suggestions for further reading. The encyclopedia includes an introductory overview of the trans-Atlantic slave trade as well as illustrations, bibliography, and chronology. As a handy ready-reference, the Encyclopedia of the Middle Passage is the first of its kind. As schools continue to incorporate slavery in their curriculums, the volume will prove to be an essential reference for high school reports and research in History and Social Studies, as well as for college students and general readers. Its subject is of continuing interest, as evidenced by the extraordinary popularity of the film Amistad and the recent HBO special, The Middle Passage. Sample entries: Abolitionism, Asante, Barracoons, Black Sailors, Cargoes, Christianity, Credit and Finance, Door of No Return, Eric Williams Thesis, Gold Coast, Import Records, Islam and Muslims, Museums, Oral History, Rape and Sexual Abuse, Seasoning, Suicide, Triangular Trade, William Wilberforce, Women
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2007
The Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery by The first work of its kind to document slavery on a global scale, The Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery is a two volume set that provides an in depth portrayal of human bondage and the slave trade from ancient times to the present. * Presents 700 topics of world slavery in 500 to 1,500 word entries that are extensively cross referenced with bibliographical citations for further research * Biographies portray the lives of notable figures such as Harriet Tubman, Mansa Musa, Laroslav the Wise * 100 illustrations, with maps accompanying core essays involving specific geographic locations
Call Number: Roy O. West Library General Collection HT861 .H57 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery Provides an historical and cultural overview of slavery around the world. This work includes the stories and cultures of the individuals involved, its complex history and its colossal impact. It covers history and legislation to art, music and literature, and religious perspectives.
Call Number: Roy O. West Library General Collection HT861 .M24 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Atlas of the Transatlantic Slave Trade by Between 1501 and 1867, the transatlantic slave trade claimed an estimated 12.5 million Africans and involved almost every country with an Atlantic coastline. In this extraordinary book, two leading historians have created the first comprehensive, up-to-date atlas on this 350-year history of kidnapping and coercion. It features nearly 200 maps, especially created for the volume, that explore every detail of the African slave traffic to the New World. The atlas is based on an online database (www.slavevoyages.org) with records on nearly 35,000 slaving voyages—roughly 80 percent of all such voyages ever made. Using maps, David Eltis and David Richardson show which nations participated in the slave trade, where the ships involved were outfitted, where the captives boarded ship, and where they were landed in the Americas, as well as the experience of the transatlantic voyage and the geographic dimensions of the eventual abolition of the traffic. Accompanying the maps are illustrations and contemporary literary selections, including poems, letters, and diary entries, intended to enhance readers’ understanding of the human story underlying the trade from its inception to its end. This groundbreaking work provides the fullest possible picture of the extent and inhumanity of one of the largest forced migrations in history.
Call Number: ONLINE or Roy O. West Library Reference HT1321 .E48 2010
Publication Date: 2010
A Historical Guide to World Slavery by Eminent scholars provide an overview of what we now know about slavery as an institution and way of life in cultures around the globe from ancient times to the present day. Drawing on the virtual explosion of empirical research and theoretical discussion on the subject over the past thirtyyears, many of the articles overturn conventional wisdom and illuminate little-known aspects of the subject, with essays on topics such as concubinage, eunuchs, and occupational mobility.
Call Number: Roy O. West Library General Collection HT861 .H59 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Find books & book chapters in WorldCat Discovery
Databases for articles
Journal article archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. Begins with vol. 1, issue 1, 1800's, or even earlier (most titles exclude the most recent 3-5 years; some titles have current issue access).
Academic Search Complete
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Using the bibliographies from the Slave Voyage database, encyclopedia articles, or other sources can lead you to additional resources. For example, this (piece of an) entry from the Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery entry on "Central and Southern Brazil" could lead you to sources that you could find by using WorldCat Discovery.
The Slave Voyages databases entries have sources lists as well. For many, these are archival sources which are not easily available. But some reference regular books or other sources that we might own, or could obtain.