Music Education Resources: Select Music Education Resources

Silver Burdett Making Music provides developmentally appropriate music learning activities for students in grades pre-kindergarten through eight. This sequential curriculum builds students' knowledge and skills within and across grade levels and engages ALL students in the music making process.

DePauw University owns Grade K - Grade 8.

Across the US, school budgets are tightening and music programs, often the first asked to compromise in the name of a balanced budget, face a seemingly grim future. Monetary restrictions combined with an increasing focus on test scores have led to heavy cuts in school music programs. In manycases, communities and teachers untrained in advocacy are helpless in the face of the school board, with no one willing and comfortable to speak up on their behalf. In Advocate for Music!: A Guide to User-Friendly Strategies, Lynn M. Brinckmeyer, respected educator and past president for theNational Association for Music Education, provides a manual for music teachers motivated to advocate but lacking the experience, resources, or time to acquire the skills to do so effectively. It will serve as a toolkit for advocating, and also for sharing resources, strategies and ideas useful foreducating everyone - from community members to political representatives - about the immediate and long-term benefits of music education. In Advocate for Music!, Brinckmeyer draws on a lifetime of arts advocacy to provide answers to the questions so many teachers have but are afraid - or simply too busy - to ask. A simple, hands-on guidebook for becoming an effective advocate for the arts, Advocate for Music! is structured around sixkey questions: what is advocacy? Why focus on it? Who should do it? How does one do it? Where should we advocate? And when should we advocate? Readers will have access to step-by-step guidelines and strategies on how to engage others, and themselves, in a variety of levels of advocacy activities. Inaddition to granting access to compelling research projects, the book will provide models of letters, webinars, research findings, printed documents, websites and contact information useful for communicating with local, state and national decision makers. Working in an informal, hands-on manner,Brinckmeyer lays out advice on who to work with and what to do: providing concrete examples of advocacy tactics from ideas on how to cooperate with the gym teacher to a sample speech for the holiday concert. As she walks the reader through the a myriad of real-life examples and practical answers toher central questions, Brinckmeyer shows that every educator, parent, family member, and administrator can and should be engaged in advocating to maintain, and support, the right for today's children and adolescents to have access to high quality music education.Advocate for Music! is an important book not only for all pre-service and inservice music teachers, but aso for state MEA leaders and staff, administrators, parents, community members, and all those involved with arts or education associations.

The Art of Teaching Music takes up important aspects of the art of music teaching ranging from organization to serving as conductor to dealing with the disconnect between the ideal of university teaching and the reality in the classroom. Writing for both established teachers and instructors on the rise, Estelle R. Jorgensen opens a conversation about the life and work of the music teacher. The author regards music teaching as interrelated with the rest of lived life, and her themes encompass pedagogical skills as well as matters of character, disposition, value, personality, and musicality. She reflects on musicianship and practical aspects of teaching while drawing on a broad base of theory, research, and personal experience. Although grounded in the practical realities of music teaching, Jorgensen urges music teachers to think and act artfully, imaginatively, hopefully, and courageously toward creating a better world.

Provides information and guidelines for music educators so that they may be better prepared to structure classroom environments that truly engage students in thinking musically. Emphasizes research-based techniques for instructing young people.

If you want to improve your professional performance and set yourself apart from your colleagues-in any discipline-these tips are for you. If you desire anything less than achieving the very best, you won't want this book. Rather than addressing research and theory about music education or the "how-tos" of teaching, these time-honored tips focus on common-sense qualities and standards of performance that are essential for success-everywhere. Whether you're considering a career in music education, entering your first year of teaching, or nearing the end of a distinguished tenure, this advice applies to musicians in any setting. Affirming quality performance for experienced teachers and guiding, nurturing, and supporting the novice, Young outlines what great music teachers do. Easy to read and straightforward, read it from beginning to end or focus on tips of interest. Come back time and again for encouragement, ideas, and affirmation of your choice to teach music.

A Field Guide to Student Teaching in Music is a practical guide focused on the link between music education coursework and the field-based aspects of the student teaching experience. It addresses general topics that are common to all music placements, as well as those topics that are of specific interest to the general, choral, and instrumental music classrooms. This text builds on theoretical materials typically covered in music methods courses, yet it is not specific to any one particular teaching pedagogy, making it flexible enough for use in a variety of music teaching settings. It will guide students through the student teaching process as they make the transition from student to music educator.

Introduction to Effective Music Teaching: Artistry and Attitude provides the prospective teacher with front-line tested strategies and approaches that are based on current research and the author's three decades of service as a public school music educator, department chairman, and public school district music administrator. Starting with a brief overview of the history of music education in public schools, Alfred Townsend gives the reader a deeper understanding of the importance of music education to all students, gifted or not. Readers then examine artistry (command of content and mastery of methods) and the ABCs of teacher attitude, the critical component that unlocks learning for many students. With an open and accessible writing style, Dr. Townsend reviews the six components of effective teaching, showing that artistry and attitude can be combined to fuel student learning and teacher leadership. Using all of this information, the reader constructs a personal, practical philosophy of music teaching and learning that will form the basis for his or her instruction. Readers will also experience artistry and attitude in action through well-written case studies of effective teachers. With increasingly diverse student populations teachers now face, this book provides music teachers with ways to interact effectively with students of all backgrounds, attitudes, and talent.

(Meredith Music Resource). An exciting, balanced approach to student performance, music learning and personal change. Written in an informal, engaging style, the text is highlighted by anecdotes, quotations, challenges for self-reflection, and techniques used by the author and top professionals in the field. The result a fulfilling, productive and successful music teaching experience. Click here for a YouTube video on Music Teaching Style: Moving Beyond Tradition

Unique in its practical approach to music education, this introduction covers the broad scope of the profession integrating musicianship, scholarship and pedagogy. It includes practical approaches to different music class situations with lesson plans that include the national standards and features scenarios of school teaching to assist readers in looking at teaching through the teacher's eyes. The authors examine qualities of the effective music teacher, developing tools for teaching, general music in the elementary and secondary schools, band programs and performances, string education, choral music, multicultural music education and developing a philosophy of music education. For music educators and others interested in musical education.

Addressing the issue of teacher retention, this practical guide is full of real-life strategies and suggestions for coping with the challenges facing teachers today. An excellent resource for beginning teachers, it includes chapters on classroom management, relationships with colleagues and students, setting goals, curriculum, training, working with parents and the community, and the importance of staying musical.

Teaching General Music in Grades 4-8: A Musicianship Approach is an ideal core text for both elementary and middle school general music methods courses. It offers unique coverage that bridges the traditional gap between these two courses. Author Thomas A. Regelski discusses the importantphysical, psychological, cognitive, and social developmental changes that occur in students in grades 4-8 (ages 9-14) and the implications of these changes for instruction in a variety of school organizational formats. Offering music educators both broad and detailed guidelines to fit the needs ofthis challenging age group, he takes a "musicianship approach" that regards general musical classes for grades 4-8 as an apprenticeship for lifelong musical involvement. The book establishes a rationale for general music education and then introduces an "Action Learning Model," which is based oncurrent research in many disciplines, including a praxial theory of music education. This model focuses on musical learning and skills that have real-life applications and lifelong consequences. It treats classes as "musicianship laboratories" in which fundamental musicianship skills are exploredand developed in conjunction with holistic musical actions involving composing, performing, singing, and listening. Teaching General Music in Grades 4-8: A Musicianship Approach offers "protocols" composed of detailed principles and guidelines that allow instructors to design their own lessons and tailor them to suit numerous conditions, including local curriculum, resources, and classroom size and layout.Each chapter ends with a down-to-earth "Nuts 'n' Bolts" section containing advice and recommendations that help teachers implement lessons. A glossary of key terms and ideas in music education is also included. Appendices provide a model curriculum, resources, and tips for using MIDI-basedinstruction and software.

Unique in both content and approach, this book offers a single-volume authoritative comparison of the four most popular music education methods used in North America--Jacques-Dalcroze, Kod#65533;ly, Orff, and Comprehensive Musicianship. Its in-depth examination of the methods and underlying philosophies of each method--and its suggested lessons for each method at each grade level--will help readers make knowledgeable curricular choices among methods. Both the New National Standards (MENC) and the use of technology in the study of music are described and discussed in relation to all four methods. Method in North American Music Teaching--The Beginning. Influences on Methods, Approaches, and Philosophies of Teaching Music. Technology and Music Education. The Approach of Jacques-Dalcroze. The Kod#65533;ly Method. The Orff Approach. Comprehensive Musicianship: An American Technique and Philosophy for Teaching Music. Achieving Goals and Objectives in School Music Programs Via the Principles of Jacques-Dalcroze, Kod#65533;ly, Orff, and Comprehensive Musicianship. Grades K-1-2. Grades 3-4-5. Grades 6-7-8. Method in Music for Older Students. Which Methods? For music educators.

The change needed in urban music education not only relates to the idea that music should be at the center of the curriculum; rather, it is that culturally relevant music should be a creative force at the center of reform in urban education. Teaching Music in the Urban Classroom A Guide to Survival, Success, and Reform is the start of a national-level conversation aimed at making that goal a reality. Its diverse authors range from classroom music teachers to inner city arts administrators to well-known academics and policy-makers from across the United States and Canada.