Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for articles...start with these database:
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Articles (and article summaries) from journals, books and conference covering exercise physiology, physical education, physical fitness, sports, and sports medicine. 4 users
Science Direct College Editions
Includes some 1,600 full-text Elsevier journals in four collections: Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, and Social Sciences & Humanities. Full-text coverage starts in 1995 or later (depending on journal) and continues to the present.
Academic Search Complete
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
MEDLINE with Full Text
Articles (or article summaries) from biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Also useful for musician health research. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
Literature reviews in biomedical sciences, physical sciences and social sciences.
- Use the Journals tab on the Libraries Home page. Search for known journals by title to see what access points we have on campus (print and/or online).
- Use the Find It button within a database to connect to the article (print and/or online). If DePauw does not access, you can request the article via ILL (Interlibrary Loan).
Key Journals in Kinesiology
The following is a partial list of key journals your professor expects you to read and use for this course:
- International Journal of Sport Psychology
- Journal of Applied Sport Psychology
- Journal of Sport and Exercise Psychology
- Journal of Sport Behavior
- The Sport Psychologist
- Women in Sport and Physical Activity
- Gait and Posture
- Human Movement Science
- International Journal of Sports Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism
- American Journal of Clinical Nutrition
- Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise
- Journal of Applied Physiology
- Journal of Sports Medicine and Physical Fitness
- Sports Medicine
- Journal of Physiology
- European Journal of Applied Physiology
- Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research
- Brain Research
- Experimental Brain Research
- Journal of Motor Behavior
- Motor Control
- Perceptual and Motor Skills
- Journal of Applied Biomechanics
- Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (formerly Jrl of the American Dietetic Association)
- Journal of the American College of Nutrition
- Nutrition Reviews