Finding articles - COMM 222 - Argumentation and Debate - LibGuides at DePauw University Libraries

Databases for journal articles

Academic Search Elite
- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
Science Direct College Editions
- Why search here? You are looking for full-text scholarly articles on science, education, psychology and business topics.
- What's included? Full-text of over 5000 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine, published by Elsevier. A growing number of e-books are also included.
PubMed
- Why search here? You are searching for articles in the health and medical sciences.
- What's included? 26+ million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles.
HeinOnline
- Why search here? You are looking for scholarly legal articles or legislative information.
- What's included? Legal research collection of current and historical materials, including full-text law journals and texts.
- Note:Titles in specific journals in HeinOnline do not seem to link correctly when accessed through the library search interface. If you are getting an error page for a title, consider using HeinOnline from the A-Z page to locate the title.
Sociological Abstracts
- Why search here? You’re writing about a topic in sociology or related fields.
- What's included? International academic literature of sociology and related disciplines, including the companion file Social Services Abstracts, which is current research focused on social work & human services. Mostly from 1990s+.
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online
- Why search here? You are working on a philosophy assignment.
- What's included? PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.
Philosopher's Index
- Why search here? You are working on a philosophy assignment.
- What's included? Citations to journal articles, books, anthologies, and book reviews covering all branches of philosophy.

Databases for newspaper articles

Newspaper Source
- Why search here? You need news from around the world.
- What's included? Articles from more than 800 U.S. and international newspapers; TV and radio news transcripts.
Access World News Research Collection
- Why search here? You need primary sources for research that cover both the U.S. and international content with diverse perspectives, topics and trends.
- What's included? More than 14,500 credible, vetted, international, national and local news sources from over 200 countries and territories.
New York Times (campus license)
- Why search here? You keep hitting the “you’ve read more than your 5 free articles” message.
- What's included? Access the New York Times daily newspaper on your computer, smartphone or tablet. (Note: this will not work on Kindle readers, only Kindle Fire.) Get the news each day along with other digital-only content via the web or the NYT app. All you need is your @depauw.edu email address to register.
The DePauw Libraries provides access to the New York Times via a campus site license. Anyone with a current DePauw email account can sign up for a NYT account and get access to the paper and archives on web browser and NYT mobile apps. Find out more about how to set up your account (or renew your access) here.
Washington Post (campus license)
- Why search here? You want to read up-to-date news stories from this major U.S. newspaper - on a website interface, and you’ve run out of free articles.
- What's included? Full-access to the print and digital content of the Washington Post website.
The DePauw Libraries provides access to the Washington Post via a campus site license. Anyone with a current DePauw email account can sign up for a Washington Post account and get access to the paper and archives on web browser and Washington Post mobile apps. Find out more about how to set up your account (or renew your access) here .
Wall Street Journal (campus license)
- Why search here? You want to read up-to-date business and current events stories from this major U.S. newspaper - on a website interface, and you’ve run out of free articles.
- What's included? Access to The Wall Street Journal website, available after registering with your campus email address.
The DePauw Libraries provides access to the Wall Street Journal via a campus site license. Anyone with a current DePauw email account can sign up for a WSJ account and get access to the paper and archives on web browser and WSJ mobile apps. Find out more about how to set up your account (or renew your access) here .