LibGuides: BIO 184A: Society, Culture, and Science: Finding Sources

Article Sources

Academic Search Elite
- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
JSTOR
- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
Project Muse
- Why search here? You need scholarly articles on the humanities and social sciences.
- What's included? Project Muse is a collection of established and longstanding scholarly journals in full-text for humanities and social sciences journals. Strengths of this collection include its caliber of content with historical and the current holdings.

Science Direct College Editions
- Why search here? You are looking for full-text scholarly articles on science, education, psychology and business topics.
- What's included? Full-text of over 5000 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine, published by Elsevier. A growing number of e-books are also included.
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
- Why search here? You’re looking for a wide variety of books, articles, journals, DVDs, CDs, etc, including physical items held by libraries worldwide. WorldCat is particularly useful for those who are searching for hard to find musical scores, recordings, and films.
- What's included? OCLC WorldCat database is the OCLC online catalog. It contains over 43 million records describing library holdings.

Encyclopedia of the Scientific Revolution : from Copernicus to Newton
- Not available at Roy O. West but can be inter-library loaned by following this link and clicking "Request Item" and submitting following form.
Encyclopaedia of the history of science, technology and medicine in non-western cultures
- Roy O. West Library General Collection Q124.8 E53 2008 v. 1-2
Science and its Times: Understanding the Social Significance of Scientific Discovery
- Not available at Roy O. West but can be inter-library loaned by following this link and clicking "Request Item" and submitting following form.
Instruments and the Imagination
- Roy O. West Library General Collection Q185 .H25 1995
Instruments and Experimentation in the History of Chemistry
- Roy O. West Library General Collection QD53 .I57 2000
Companion Encyclopedia of the History and Philosophy of the Mathematical Sciences
- Roy O. West Library General Collection QA21 .C645 1994
History of Astronomy
- Roy O. West Library General Collection QB15 .H624 1997
A Guide to the History of Science
- Roy O. West Library General Collection Q125 .S24
Universities and Science in the Early Modern Period
- Roy O. West Library General Collection Q125.2 .U55 2006
Science and Indigenous Knowledge
- Digital Access Here
Traditional and Indigenous Knowledge Systems for the Modern Era
- Digital Access Here

Isis
Since its inception in 1912, Isis has featured scholarly articles, research notes and commentary on the history of science, medicine, and technology, and their cultural influences. Review essays and book reviews on new publications in the field are also included. An official publication of the History of Science Society. (NOTE: Look over the Yearly Bibliography.)
Isis CBExplore
An open access search tool of bibliographic data from Isis Bibliography of the History of Science.
IsisCB Cumulative
IsisCB Cumulative is a digitized version of the Isis Cumulative Bibliography of the History of Science, spanning sixty years from 1913 to 1975. The full text is available as seven large HTML files corresponding to the seven volumes of the Isis Cumulative Bibliography covering that period.

Other journals of interest: