Skip to Main Content
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window- Why search here? You’re doing research on music.
- What's included? Abstracts and citations to music scholarship. Sponsored by the International Musicological Society, the International Association of Music Libraries, and the International Council on Traditional Music.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window- Why search here? You’re doing research on music.
- What's included? An index with full-text and abstracts of articles on music. Includes indexing for music articles and obituaries from the New York Times and The Washington Post. Covers nearly all aspects of music, including scholarly studies and popular trends.
Arts Premium Collection This link opens in a new window- Why search here? You need academic journals in the performing arts, music, design, or film studies.
- What's included? The Arts Premium Collection provides cross-searchable access to thousands of journal titles in specialist subject areas for arts, design, film, humanities, music, and performing arts.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window- Why search here? You need a variety of scholarly and professional sources like journal articles, books, reports, and proceedings.
- What's included? Information about published sources, sometimes with links to the full-text, covering most disciplines.
- Note:Follow these instructions to set your Google Scholar settings for access to DePauw's Full Text when available: Google Scholar FAQ
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window- Why search here? You need academic journals in the performing arts.
- What's included? Performing Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
