Skip to Main Content
Searching for articles...start with these database:
-
Academic Search Elite
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
-
Science Direct College Editions
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are looking for full-text scholarly articles on science, education, psychology and business topics.
- What's included? Full-text of over 5000 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine, published by Elsevier. A growing number of e-books are also included.
-
Annual Reviews
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want to read summaries of previous research on a topic, giving you historical context and current understanding of the subject, as well as a list of sources to consult.
- What's included? Over 30,000 literature reviews in the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, dating back to 1932.
-
PubMed
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are searching for articles in the health and medical sciences.
- What's included? 26+ million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles.
-
APA PsycInfo with PsycArticles
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You're doing research in Psychology or Neuroscience.
- What's included? Coverage back to 1600s, from 2300 journals.
-
Dissertations: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want to read graduate student dissertations and theses on a topic - often giving you extensive bibliographies, and occasionally cutting edge research on new topics.
- What's included? Index of doctoral dissertations and some master's theses from most North American and many European colleges and universities. Starts in 1743. Full text is available for over 1 million, mostly since 1996.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want contemporary/recent news, reported from the minority press, or scholarly journals in Ethnic Studies.
- What's included? Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, predominately in the United States, 1959-present. Includes Asian-American, Jewish-American, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European-American, multi-ethnic communities and more.
-
GenderWatch
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re researching topics about gender issues.
- What's included? Articles from journals, magazines, newspapers (some working papers & dissertations), published since 1970. Almost all are full text. Gender studies, men's studies, & women's studies.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are looking for research articles on medical topics.
- What's included? Scholarly full text journals covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
-
JSTOR
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
-
JSTOR Sustainability
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are looking for articles and reports on environmental issues.
- What's included? Over 100 journals and over 5,400 open research reports. Subtopics include sustainable business practices, urban planning and development, disaster readiness, conversation, climatology, resource management, energy policy.
-
PTSDpubs Database
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are researching PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events.
- What's included? Abstracts and citations on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), from the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs.
-
SAGE Premier Journals Online
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’ve tried other databases and still need more journal articles, particularly in health/life sciences or social sciences.
- What's included? Full-text of over 650 full-text journals published by SAGE, 1999-present.
-
Springer Nature Link Journals
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Full-text scholarly articles in all areas of science and some areas of social sciences from 1997 to present.
- What's included? Over 1,600 full-text Springer journals in the following fields: behavioral science, biomedical & life sciences, business & economics, chemistry, computer science, earth & environmental science, humanities, social sciences & law, mathematics & statistics, and medicine. Coverage starts in 1997 or later and continues to the present.
