ARTH 197HA: FYS: Breaking Images: Iconoclasm and Iconophobia in a Global Context: Useful Resources
This guide was created to support the students enrolled in Prof. Dechant's FYS: Breaking Images: Iconoclasm and Iconophobia in a Global Context (Fall 2022).
Why search here? You’re researching topics related to art and architecture; including urban history, art history and theory, conservation and technical studies, decorative arts and material culture, design and graphic design, fashion and textile history, landscape studies, or photography and film.
What's included? Many out-of-print titles, key backlist, peer-reviewed born-digital content, and recent releases from academic and museum publishers are available as eBooks exclusively on A&AePortal.
Why search here? You’re researching topics related to Art, Art History, Prints, Photography, and Film.
What's included? Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art (from the late 19th century onwards), including the history of photography.
Why search here? You’re looking for peer-reviewed art resources.
What's included? Peer-reviewed articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals and magazines covering fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Also indexes book reviews, dissertations, and art reproductions.
Why search here? You’re looking for art journalism content from 1929-1984.
What's included? Abstracts and citations to articles, interviews, reviews, yearbooks, and museum publications (published in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch) covering fine, decorative and commercial art between 1929-1984.
Why search here? You’re looking for high-quality art images.
What's included? The visual version of JSTOR, Artstor provides approximately 1.8 million high-quality images. It includes architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects, and visual and material culture more generally.
Note: To save/print high quality images you must register. No commercial or non-educational use allowed!
Why search here? You’re looking for materials regarding European, American, and global art.
What's included? Provides coverage of international art scholarship ranging from European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
What's included? Online gateway for Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference works; the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day.
Why search here? You want to read graduate student dissertations and theses on a topic - often giving you extensive bibliographies, and occasionally cutting edge research on new topics.
What's included? Index of doctoral dissertations and some master's theses from most North American and many European colleges and universities. Starts in 1743. Full text is available for over 1 million, mostly since 1996.
Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
Academic journal arranged thematically under a guest editor including articles by and about artists, exhibition reviews, book reviews and lists of books and catalogues received.
