LibGuides: UNIV 180: Science Research Professional Development I: Databases

Notes about Database Use

If you are interested in Chemistry and want to use SciFinder-n you MUST register for an account before you can use it. Due to publisher request we cannot make the registration link publicly accessible. Please email me at aliciaikerd@depauw.edu if you would like to use SciFinder and I can provide a registration link.

Use these library subscription databases to access articles

ACM Digital Library
- Why search here? You need sources for computer science research..
- What's included? Publications from the Association of Computing Machinery plus other computer science scholarly sources.
Academic Search Complete
- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
Annual Reviews
- Why search here? You want to read summaries of previous research on a topic, giving you historical context and current understanding of the subject, as well as a list of sources to consult.
- What's included? Over 30,000 literature reviews in the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, dating back to 1932.
BioOne
- Why search here? You need articles covering biological, ecological, and environmental science topics.
- What's included? A collection of full-text journals, mostly from small societies and non-commercial publishers, covering fields such as zoology, plant sciences, ornithology, and entomology.
SciFinder-n
- Why search here? You want to search the chemical literature.
- What's included? SciFinder-n contains a wide variety of content from journal articles to information on chemical structures, properties, and reactions.
This database requires all users to be logged in with one of their accounts. To get access to the registration link, please contact library@depauw.edu.
EconLit
- Why search here? You need scholarly research in the field of Economics.
- What's included? Citations and abstracts from journal articles in economics, finance, business administration, labor, and industrial organization.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
- Why search here? You are looking for general health information.
- What's included? Non-technical articles on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
- Why search here? You are looking for research articles on medical topics.
- What's included? Scholarly full text journals covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
JSTOR
- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
PubMed
- Why search here? You are searching for articles in the health and medical sciences.
- What's included? 26+ million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles.
Science Direct College Editions
- Why search here? You are looking for full-text scholarly articles on science, education, psychology and business topics.
- What's included? Full-text of over 500 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine.
Sociological Abstracts
- Why search here? You’re writing about a topic in sociology or related fields.
- What's included? International academic literature of sociology and related disciplines, including the companion file Social Services Abstracts, which is current research focused on social work & human services. Mostly from 1990s+.

Google Scholar