Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HONR 101 - Blood Will Tell

This guide is for Eugene Gloria's Fall 2022 FYS.

Databases

JSTOR

  • Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
  • What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.

MLA International Bibliography

  • Why search here? This is the principal resource for scholarship in languages, linguistics and literature.
  • What's included? Full-text articles from scholarly journals, citations for books and dissertations, proceedings, essays and bibliographies are international in scope. The Thesaurus identifies terminology appearing in current scholarship to create more precise searches. Folklore, the history of printing and publishing, dramatic arts, film and broadcasting are also included.

Project Muse

  • Why search here? You need scholarly articles on the humanities and social sciences.
  • What's included? Project Muse is a collection of established and longstanding scholarly journals in full-text for humanities and social sciences journals. Strengths of this collection include its caliber of content with historical and the current holdings.

Humanities Full Text

  • Why search here? You want scholarly journal articles in the humanities
  • What's included? About 600 journals, mostly peer-reviewed, covering art, history, theatre, music, religion, film, philosophy, literature, and language.