Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HONR 101G: FYS: Crops, Cures & Capital: Plants in Human Cultures: Web Sites + More Food and Science Writers

Web Sites of Interest

American Botanical Council
Use the Search Box to look up your medicinal plant.  Not all of the information can be viewed online.  Pay particular attention to the content that is labeled free.

HerbMed 
"an interactive, electronic herbal database - provides hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health. It is an impartial, evidence-based information resource provided by the nonprofit Alternative Medicine Foundation."

Information Resource: About Herbs, Botanicals and Other Products
Evidence-based information about herbs, botanicals, supplements, and more. Part of the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center.

A Modern Herbal
An online version of the classic book A Modern Herbal, that provides information on the "medicinal, culinary, cosmetic and economic properties, cultivation and folk-lore of herbs, grasses, fungi, shrubs, & trees with all their modern scientific uses."

Medline Plus: Herbs and Supplements
"
Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions."

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Along with Health Topics A-Z, check out "Herbs at a Glance," which provides basic information about herbs & botanicals - includes common names, potential side effects, resources for more information.

University of Washington Medicinal Herb Garden
Great source for images! This tour through the University of Washington's Medicinal Herb Garden is "a resource for herbalists, medics, and botanists of all levels." Search specific plants by botanical or common names to see color images and related links.

USDA Plant Database
Site provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts & lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, web links & references. 

Glossary of Botanical Terms

Indiana Native Plant Society

The Botanist in the Kitchen: where botany meets the cutting board:  "Our goal is three-fold:  to share the fascinating biology of our food plants, to teach biology using edible, familiar examples, and to suggest delicious ways to bring the plants and their stories to your table."

Crime Pays But Botany Doesn't :  website  and  YouTube Channel

Cassandra Lee Quave: medical ethnobotanist whose work is focused on the documentation and analysis of botanical remedies used in the treatment of infectious disease.

Michael W. Twitty