Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browsing and Background
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of over 200 core academic subjects, language and quotation dictionaries, as well as Oxford University Press encyclopedias and companions series.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Brief profiles & articles from magazines & reference books. Mostly for kids & teens. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Professor Glessner started an e-book search in DePauw's Discovery library catalog! You can access his search (linked on the assignment page) here for the search phrase "bible commentary."
To find e-books (and more!) use DePauw's Discovery search. It will also search for materials owned by libraries all over the world.
Other interesting E-Books
The Cambridge Companion to the Bible by
Publication Date: 2012-05-28
The Cambridge Companion to the Bible, 2nd edition provides in-depth data and analysis of the production and reception of the canonical writings of the Hebrew Bible and New Testament, and also of the apocryphal works produced by Jewish and Christian writers. Unique among single-volume introductions, this book focuses on the ever-changing social and cultural contexts in which the biblical authors and their original readers lived. The authors of the first edition were chosen for their internationally recognized expertise in their respective fields: the history and literature of Israel; postbiblical Judaism; biblical archaeology; and the origins and early literature of Christianity. In this second edition, all chapters have been updated and thoroughly revised,under the direction of a new volume editor, Bruce D. Chilton. More than 22 new maps, 90 new photographs and a full-color section help illustrate the book.
Professor's Recommended Resources
The Oxford Bible Commentary by The Oxford Bible Commentary is an exciting new ecumenical verse-by-verse commentary on the whole Bible, including all the books of the Apocrypha, for use by Christians, Jews, and members of other religious traditions, or of none. 1.5 million words long, it has been written by a team ofinternationally respected biblical scholars chosen for their expertise and ability to communicate rather than for their adherence to any particular faith. Now available in paperback, the Oxford Bible Commentary will provide the one-volume resource for the Bible for the 21st century.
Publication Date: 2013-09-15
An online forum/discussion platform dedicated to contemporary and historical Jewish readings/interpretations of Tanakh
Oxford Biblical Studies Online
Oxford Biblical Studies Online includes information on people and society/individuals. This link is referenced on the assignment sheet given by Prof. Glessner.
Bible Odyssey (People)
Learn more about some familiar and perhaps unfamiliar people from the Bible. Main articles are connected to related articles and multimedia content that invite you to explore different angles on the subject.
Bible Odyssey (Passages)
Learn more about some familiar and perhaps unfamiliar passages from the Bible. Main articles explore two leading questions and are connected to related articles and multimedia content that invite you to explore different angles on the subject.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) provides access to hundreds of books from Oxford University Press. Humanities, social sciences, science, medicine, and law.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, essays and book reviews covering world religions, church history, biblical studies and religion in society. Coverage: 1949-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journal article archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. Begins with vol. 1, issue 1, 1800's, or even earlier (most titles exclude the most recent 3-5 years; some titles have current issue access).
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses; includes literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy and religion, political science, medicine and health, gender studies. Most coverage 1990s to present, consult the journal list, as coverage varies for each title. NOTE: DePauw subscribes only to the journal coverage (Premium Collection) and not the digital book collection.
Find full text
Throughout your searches you will see this icon/button:
Click on it to see:
- if the article is online in another database
- if we have a physical copy in the libraries
- if not, and it looks useful for your research, you can request an InterLibrary Loan
To find full text for articles or ebooks when using our Discovery Search, click the Access Online button:
Using Interlibrary Loan
Sometimes we don't have access to the item you want, but we have a way of getting it for you...Interlibrary Loan. If you don't find a link to full-text or a call number, you'll see this button:
If you request an item using Interlibrary Loan, it will take up to 7-10 days to be received. When the item comes in, you will be notified by e-mail. Some items will be available electronically in your ILL account; others you will pick up at the Circulation desk.
Login to ILLiad to enter information for a request that you need to make manually, to check the status of a request, or to request a renewal.