Finding Resources - ENG 255 - Poet, Seeker, Lover, Friend - LibGuides at DePauw University Libraries

Search WorldCat Discovery at DePauw

Other databases

Oxford Reference
Full-text collection of over 200 core academic subjects, language and quotation dictionaries, as well as Oxford University Press encyclopedias and companions series.

Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature
Biographical information and works of various authors from the Medieval period through the 18th century.

Digitized Books

HathiTrust
Digitized collections, books, journals, etc. from libraries and research institutions. Full-text access and downloading is available for materials published before 1923, including: US federal government documents; works still protected by copyright, but made available to HathiTrust with the permission of the copyright holder. Includes ability to keyword search the entire HathiTrust Digital Library, both public domain and in-copyright titles, to facilitate information discovery.

Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free digitized books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Search article databases

You can search in any of these databases to find articles on your topic. I've put them (more or less) in order with the "best" options at the top of the list - but that will vary by specific search.

MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. 1925+ and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
JSTOR
Journal article archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. Begins with vol. 1, issue 1, 1800's, or even earlier (most titles exclude the most recent 3-5 years; some titles have current issue access).
Humanities Full Text
Articles from 300+ humanities journals, indexes 700. 1980+. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Academic Search Complete
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
Abstracts and citations to articles in scholarly and popular journals and magazines covering the humanities and social sciences.
Project Muse
Full-text articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses; includes literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy and religion, political science, medicine and health, gender studies. Most coverage 1990s to present, consult the journal list, as coverage varies for each title. NOTE: DePauw subscribes only to the journal coverage (Premium Collection) and not the digital book collection.
Literature Criticism Online
Compilation of literary criticism previously published in journals and books. Includes sets covering: Children's, Classical & Medieval, Contemporary, Drama, 1400 - 1800, Poetry, Short Stories, & 20th Century. Our access includes reviews published through 2008.

Scholarly Communication and Cataloging Librarian

Victoria Peters

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Standard Office Hours: M-F: 9AM - 5PM

Library's Research Help page

Library's Research Help page
Start here for all your research questions - check the FAQs on library policies and procedures, chat with a peer research consultant, or make an appointment with a librarian for a one-on-one consultation.

Finding Full Text

Once you find an article you would like to access, full text may be available by clicking on the Find it button. The Find it button will let you know if the article is available in another database, if the library has a copy of the article in print, or help you request it via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

ENG 255 - Poet, Seeker, Lover, Friend: Finding Resources