Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’d like to find a book that provides an overview of a complex topic, person, or time period.
- What's included? Authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, science, medicine, and law.
- What's included? Large collection of ebooks published by Oxford University Press.
To find e-books (and more!) use DePauw's Discovery search. It will also search for materials owned by libraries all over the world.
Other interesting E-Books
Makers of Modern Asia by
Publication Date: 2014-08-29
The twenty-first century has been dubbed the Asian Century. Highlighting diverse thinker-politicians rather than billionaire businessmen, Makers of Modern Asia presents eleven leaders who theorized and organized anticolonial movements, strategized and directed military campaigns, and designed and implemented political systems.
Migration and Diaspora in Modern Asia by
Publication Date: 2011-03-07
Traces the history of modern migration against the background of empires, their dissolution and the onset of modernity.
Moral Foods by
Publication Date: 2020-02-29
Moral Foods: The Construction of Nutrition and Health in Modern Asia investigates how foods came to be established as moral entities, how moral food regimes reveal emerging systems of knowledge and enforcement, and how these developments have contributed to new Asian nutritional knowledge regimes. The collection's focus on cross-cultural and transhistorical comparisons across Asia brings into view a broad spectrum of modern Asia that extends from East Asia, Southeast Asia, to South Asia, as well as into global communities of Western knowledge, practice, and power outside Asia. The first section, "Good Foods," focuses on how food norms and rules have been established in modern Asia. Ideas about good foods and good bodies shift at different moments, in some cases privileging local foods and knowledge systems, and in other cases privileging foreign foods and knowledge systems. The second section, "Bad Foods," focuses on what makes foods bad and even dangerous. Bad foods are not simply unpleasant or undesirable for aesthetic or sensory reasons, but they can hinder the stability and development of persons and societies. Bad foods are symbolically polluting, as in the case of foreign foods that threaten not only traditional foods, but also the stability and strength of the nation and its people. The third section, "Moral Foods," focuses on how themes of good versus bad are embedded in projects to make modern persons, subjects, and states, with specific attention to the ambiguities and malleability of foods and health. The malleability of moral foods provides unique opportunities for understanding Asian societies' dynamic position within larger global flows, connections, and disconnections. Collectively, the chapters raise intriguing questions about how foods and the bodies that consume them have been valued politically, economically, culturally, and morally, and about how those values originated and evolved. Consumers in modern Asia are not simply eating to satisfy personal desires or physiological needs, but they are also conscripted into national and global statemaking projects through acts of ingestion. Eating, then, has become about fortifying both the person and the nation.
Find full text
Throughout your searches you will see this icon/button:
Click on it to see:
- if the article is online in another database
- if we have a physical copy in the libraries
- if not, and it looks useful for your research, you can request an InterLibrary Loan
To find full text for articles or ebooks when using our Discovery Search, click the Access Online button:
Using Interlibrary Loan
Sometimes we don't have access to the item you want, but we have a way of getting it for you...Interlibrary Loan. If you don't find a link to full-text or a call number, you'll see this button:
If you request an item using Interlibrary Loan, it will take up to 7-10 days to be received. When the item comes in, you will be notified by e-mail. Some items will be available electronically in your ILL account; others you will pick up at the Circulation desk.
Login to ILLiad to enter information for a request that you need to make manually, to check the status of a request, or to request a renewal.