Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Databases?
Research tools that help you find
articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, or other information
sources like books, videos, and maps.
Some focus on a kind of source (like newspaper articles); most of ours focus on scholarly research in a specific academic field.
Once you find an article you would like to access, full
text may be available by clicking on the Find it button. The Find it
button will check to see if the article is available in another
database, to see if the library has a copy of the article in print, or let you borrow the item using Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need scholarly articles on the humanities and social sciences.
- What's included? Project Muse is a collection of established and longstanding scholarly journals in full-text for humanities and social sciences journals. Strengths of this collection include its caliber of content with historical and the current holdings.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need preliminary background information for an assignment.
- What's included? A collection of electronic encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press.