Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Starting Your Search
It can be intimidating to use the library and start a research project, but fear not we (the librarians and your professor) are here every step of the way.
- It helps to start by writing a list of terms that you will use in your search.
- Keep notes as you research, the terms you used, where you searched, what you found.
- Once you have some terms do some background research to add more terms to your list.
- Now you have a bit more information on your topic start looking for more in depth information.
- Search for books, use the bibliography to find even more books or articles.
- Use library databases to search for articles.
- As you encounter words, time periods, names, places etc. that you don't know circle back to do more background reading.
Full-text collection of over 200 core academic subjects, language and quotation dictionaries, as well as Oxford University Press encyclopedias and companions series.
To find books (and more!) use DePauw's Discovery search. It will also search materials owned by libraries all over the world.
Digitized collections, books, journals, etc. from libraries and research institutions. Full-text access and downloading is available for materials published before 1923, including: US federal government documents; works still protected by copyright, but made available to HathiTrust with the permission of the copyright holder. Includes ability to keyword search the entire HathiTrust Digital Library, both public domain and in-copyright titles, to facilitate information discovery.
Academic Search Complete
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Journal article archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. Begins with vol. 1, issue 1, 1800's, or even earlier (most titles exclude the most recent 3-5 years; some titles have current issue access).
Full-text articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses; includes literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy and religion, political science, medicine and health, gender studies. Most coverage 1990s to present, consult the journal list, as coverage varies for each title. NOTE: DePauw subscribes only to the journal coverage (Premium Collection) and not the digital book collection.
All the databases the libraries subscribe to. Choose a subject from the drop down list at the top of the page.
Using Interlibrary Loan
Sometimes, especially with Roy O. closed, we don't have access to the item you want, but we have a way of getting it for you...Interlibrary Loan. If you don't find a link to full-text or a call number, you'll see one of these buttons:
If you request a physical item (book, DVD, score, etc.) using Interlibrary Loan, it can take up to 7-10 days to be received. When the item comes in, you will be notified by e-mail. Some items will be available electronically (articles, book chapters) in your ILL account; others you will pick up at the Circulation desk in Prevo Science Library.
Login to your Library Account to enter information for a request that you need to make manually, to check the status of a request, or to request a renewal.