LibGuides: ARTH 197: Breaking Images: Iconoclasm and Iconophobia in a Global Context iconoclasm or censorship of image: Home

Starting Your Search

It can be intimidating to use the library and start a research project, but fear not we (the librarians and your professor) are here every step of the way.

It helps to start by writing a list of terms that you will use in your search.
Keep notes as you research, the terms you used, where you searched, what you found.
Once you have some terms do some background research to add more terms to your list.
Now you have a bit more information on your topic start looking for more in depth information.
Search for books, use the bibliography to find even more books or articles.
Use library databases to search for articles.
As you encounter words, time periods, names, places etc. that you don't know circle back to do more background reading.

Finding Sources

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Online gateway for Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference works.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of over 200 core academic subjects, language and quotation dictionaries, as well as Oxford University Press encyclopedias and companions series.

Art & Architecture ePortal (A&AePortal) This link opens in a new window
eBook resource that features scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Digitized collections, books, journals, etc. from libraries and research institutions. Full-text access and downloading is available for materials published before 1923, including: US federal government documents; works still protected by copyright, but made available to HathiTrust with the permission of the copyright holder. Includes ability to keyword search the entire HathiTrust Digital Library, both public domain and in-copyright titles, to facilitate information discovery.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals and magazines covering fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Also indexes book reviews, dissertations and art reproductions.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journal article archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. Begins with vol. 1, issue 1, 1800's, or even earlier (most titles exclude the most recent 3-5 years; some titles have current issue access).

News Sources:

U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Includes 1985+ of the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, the Chicago Tribune, and the Los Angeles Times.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A full-text article database of popular and trade news from around the world; company profiles; accounting literature and legal information largely focusing on U.S. and North America.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
The visual version of JSTOR, providing approximately 1.8 million high-quality images. It includes architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects, and visual and material culture more generally.

To save/print high quality images you must register. No commercial or non-educational use allowed!

Google Images
Google Images can help you find high quality images from across the web. Choose the More tools option to search images by size, so you can find large resolution ones.

How to Cite

Chicago Manual of Style

Librarian Profile

Brooke Cox

Email Me

Using Interlibrary Loan

Sometimes, especially with Roy O. closed, we don't have access to the item you want, but we have a way of getting it for you...Interlibrary Loan. If you don't find a link to full-text or a call number, you'll see one of these buttons:

If you request a physical item (book, DVD, score, etc.) using Interlibrary Loan, it can take up to 7-10 days to be received. When the item comes in, you will be notified by e-mail. Some items will be available electronically (articles, book chapters) in your ILL account; others you will pick up at the Circulation desk in Prevo Science Library.

Login to your Library Account to enter information for a request that you need to make manually, to check the status of a request, or to request a renewal.