Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Starting Your Search
It can be intimidating to use the library and start a research project, but fear not we (the librarians and your professor) are here every step of the way.
- It helps to start by writing a list of terms that you will use in your search.
- Keep notes as you research, the terms you used, where you searched, what you found.
- Once you have some terms do some background research to add more terms to your list.
- Now you have a bit more information on your topic start looking for more in depth information.
- Search for books, use the bibliography to find even more books or articles.
- Use library databases to search for articles.
- As you encounter words, time periods, names, places etc. that you don't know circle back to do more background reading.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re doing research on art.
- What's included? Online gateway for Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference works; the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need preliminary background information for an assignment.
- What's included? A collection of electronic encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press.
To find books (and more!) use DePauw's Discovery search. It will also search materials owned by libraries all over the world.
Art & Architecture ePortal (A&AePortal) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re researching topics related to art and architecture; including urban history, art history and theory, conservation and technical studies, decorative arts and material culture, design and graphic design, fashion and textile history, landscape studies, or photography and film.
- What's included? Many out-of-print titles, key backlist, peer-reviewed born-digital content, and recent releases from academic and museum publishers are available as eBooks exclusively on A&AePortal.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need digitized access to books and journals otherwise not available electronically.
- What's included? Full-text access and downloading is available for materials published before 1923, including: US federal government documents; works still protected by copyright, but made available to HathiTrust with the permission of the copyright holder.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re looking for peer-reviewed art resources.
- What's included? Peer-reviewed articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals and magazines covering fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Also indexes book reviews, dissertations, and art reproductions.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need contemporary and recent news articles from recognized mainstream major newspapers.
- What's included? Full-text (but not page images) of The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal from 1980s to present.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need news, law cases and reviews, and company financial information.
- What's included? A full-text article database of popular and trade news from around the world; company profiles; accounting literature and legal information largely focusing on U.S. and North America.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re looking for high-quality art images.
- What's included? The visual version of JSTOR, Artstor provides approximately 1.8 million high-quality images. It includes architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects, and visual and material culture more generally.
- Note: To save/print high quality images you must register. No commercial or non-educational use allowed!
Google Images can help you find high quality images from across the web. Choose the More tools option to search images by size, so you can find large resolution ones.
Using Interlibrary Loan
Sometimes, especially with Roy O. closed, we don't have access to the item you want, but we have a way of getting it for you...Interlibrary Loan. If you don't find a link to full-text or a call number, you'll see one of these buttons:
If you request a physical item (book, DVD, score, etc.) using Interlibrary Loan, it can take up to 7-10 days to be received. When the item comes in, you will be notified by e-mail. Some items will be available electronically (articles, book chapters) in your ILL account; others you will pick up at the Circulation desk in Prevo Science Library.
Login to your Library Account to enter information for a request that you need to make manually, to check the status of a request, or to request a renewal.