Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Full Text
Once you find an article you would like to access, full text may be available by clicking on the Find it button. The Find it button will check to see if the article is available from another database, to see if the library has a copy of the article in print, or let you request to borrow the article using Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).
If you request an item using ILLiad, digital articles take about 1-3 days while physical items/books take up to 7-10 days to be received. When the item comes in, you will be notified by e-mail. Some items will be available electronically in your ILLiad account; others you will pick up at the Prevo Science Library (if you are on-campus).
Login to ILLiad to enter information for a request that you need to make manually, to check the status of a request, or to request a renewal.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, government and general-interest titles covering environment, global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy and recycling. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journal article archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. Begins with vol. 1, issue 1, 1800's, or even earlier (most titles exclude the most recent 3-5 years; some titles have current issue access).
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses; includes literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy and religion, political science, medicine and health, gender studies. Most coverage 1990s to present, consult the journal list, as coverage varies for each title. NOTE: DePauw subscribes only to the journal coverage (Premium Collection) and not the digital book collection.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Science Direct College Editions This link opens in a new window
Includes some 1,600 full-text Elsevier journals in four collections: Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, and Social Sciences & Humanities. Full-text coverage starts in 1995 or later (depending on journal) and continues to the present.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Digitized collections, books, journals, etc. from libraries and research institutions. Full-text access and downloading is available for materials published before 1923, including: US federal government documents; works still protected by copyright, but made available to HathiTrust with the permission of the copyright holder. Includes ability to keyword search the entire HathiTrust Digital Library, both public domain and in-copyright titles, to facilitate information discovery.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) provides access to hundreds of books from Oxford University Press. Humanities, social sciences, science, medicine, and law.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 books in a variety of subject areas, including publications from major academic publishers. Sections (60 pages or less) can be printed. New books are added on a regular basis. NOTE: To download content (which automatically expires, like a "loan"), log in via the Bookshelf Tab or Sign In link using your DePauw network username and password .