Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here are some examples of things that could be primary sources: newspaper and magazine articles, letters, government documents, advertisements, oral histories, photographs, paintings, census data, scientific records, pollution analysis records, diaries, journals, & maps.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to
written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images,
prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It
is a digital record of American history and creativity. These
materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other
institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas
that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for
education and lifelong learning.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journal article archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. Begins with vol. 1, issue 1, 1800's, or even earlier (most titles exclude the most recent 3-5 years; some titles have current issue access).
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously searches several historic newspaper packages including African American, early American, ethnic, & Hispanic papers. Dates vary widely!
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, predominately in the United States, 1959-present. Includes Asian-American, Jewish-American, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European-American, multi-ethnic communities and more.
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Full text of newspaper from 1851 to four years ago (new year added every January). For the most recent four years, use the advanced search within the database National Newspapers Core.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Over 300 full-text newspapers, published by & about African Americans. 1827-1998.
Wall Street Journal (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Full text of newspaper from 1889 to about eight years ago. For the most recent eight years, use the advanced search within the database National Newspapers Core.
This free site from the Library of Congress allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Indianapolis Recorder This link opens in a new window
Providing access to the 1899-2005 run of the African American newspaper, the Indianapolis Recorder